Latest Product Reviews

We've got great products at the best prices, but don't take OUR word for it! Check back here to read the latest product reviews by our members!

9/28/2017
Goldwin
MD
20_stars
Taka for GL1500 - Disappointing

I bought the 20" clear Taka windshield. The top of the windshield is about the height of my mouth. It looks good on the bike much like an OEM windshield, but the wind/noise reduction that I bought it for is not there. If I wear bright clothing (as I usually do when riding), the vertical portion of the windshield (near the top) reflects that color back in my eyes which is quite distracting. The only good news is that distortion caused by the extra curve in the windshield does not seem to be a problem.

I do not recommend this windshield for the GL1500.

yes no
 
9/28/2017
Henrik
Hillerød, DK
50_stars
1 or 2

Are thiese sold as a paer ??

yes no
 
9/28/2017
Ron
Westfield, NJ
50_stars
Very Attractive and Functional

The windshield is a nice addition to my gray F6B. It adds a little bit of a sinister look to an already stealthy appearance. The windshield comes with about two inches of available adjustment in the slots for the mounting bolts. The smoke tint is pretty dark so it's not practical to have it above eye level. I'm 6' 1" tall and at the lowest setting, my view from the top of the dash board out to about two feet from the front of the bike is obscured by the windshield which isn't an issue for me.

yes no
 
9/27/2017
Chris
50_stars
So Far No GOOD....

Can not get the Mount to mount on the Brake side of Handlebar on F6B. The one set of Screws out of the 3 that will actually thread the Hole is to short and the other Two sets that are long enough will not thread the Hole. Probably could go out and find some Screws that work but why should I. This is what the $60 I paid for the Kit was for. I have lots of Kuryakyn products and will continue to buy, but this one is just not working for me. Will be returning.

yes no
 
9/27/2017
MacGyver
Albuquerque, NM
40_stars
Overall it is better than OEM

The windscreen design does help some with buffeting. It was awhile before I had a passenger, and my wife said it is a little bit better than OEM but buffeting wasnt reduced as much as we expected. It is in about the 1/2 up/down place, so when we can I'll raise it all the way up and see if there is any difference.
Finally got a good rain coming home tonight. It's not perfect but it's 10x better at shedding the rain that the OEM windshield.
As far as installation, it is thicker so I had a little problem with the rubber strips. I need to pull it back off and try to fix that. Just use caution with the adhesive rubber strips when you install since the windscreen is thicker. Otherwise it was easy to install.

yes no
 
9/27/2017
Kenney
Riceville, TN
30_stars
Up date

Looks like 8 k is going to get the back tire. Going back to Bridgestone. If you ride straight up may be ok. But if you ride even the least bit aggressive the side will wear way before the center. Also noisy.

yes no
 
9/27/2017
the harv
Berlin, NH
10_stars
Poor Quality

I have had to replace the left side TWICE now in 4 years. The first time the whole left side went out. The second time half of the left side failed. So disappointed with this product.

yes no
 
9/26/2017
Jimmytee
Elizabethtown, KY
50_stars
Over All Love it

Ok, I bought my set up directly from Arnott several months ago. It's nice to see them here on Wingstuff. Great price too. I paid a little more with a veteran's discount too.

I don't know on a 1-5 star rating where I'd exactly put these. The quality of the components is high. The directions are pretty straight forward. The only thing I would like different would be a preference for braided air lines. The plastic air lines are functional, but I would feel more secure if they were braided. The only other thing that needs mentioning is the compressor location. I installed the kit on a F6B. I am pretty sure whether it's on a F6B or full Gold Wing , the location is the same. The kit comes with a bracket that mounts the compressor to the left of the rear tire. It's out of the way and discreet. Issue with this location became apparent when I went to replace the rear tire and remove the rear wheel. There is not enough clearance to remove the rear wheel with the compressor in this location. The tire can not get past. My immediate solution was to remove the four small allen head screws that secure the compressor to the bracket. This was a good thing because it was then I found these screws were very loose. These were already installed as the kit came, so anyone getting this kit, make sure you check these 4 screws. It was not a big deal removing the 4 screws, but never the less, it is an extra complication with the system installed as directed. The other option would've been to unbolt the bracket which bolt under the battery tray. That would be a pain.

Okay outside of the things I mentioned, I have been very happy with the performance. I don't have any experience with any other aftermarket shock for the Gold Wing/ F6B so I can't compare. However, compared to stock, it gives a much more plush ride. I also have increased ground clearance at the touch of a button. When I am riding aggressively in the twisties , I just add more air while riding down the road. The same goes when riding 2 up vs 1 up. I added a digital air pressure gauge to my set up that allows me to know where the pressure is and have a reference for what pressure works best for the situation. I really am enjoying this enhancement.

yes no
 
9/24/2017
SAM55
Marvin, NC
50_stars
GREAT Ride So Far!

I have had only Dunlop tires on my 2008 GL 1800 since it was purchased new. On 9/16/2017 at 71,000 miles, I put new Dunlop Elite 4 tires on (front and rear). I've now ridden 500 miles, mostly highway, and love them. I have Centramatic wheel balancers on the bike and have gotten excellent mileage on my previous Dunlops. Unfortunately, even with the high mileage, my last pair of tires showed a bit of cupping. I'm hoping that these last as long as my previous sets, cupping or not. I like the feel of these tires and highly recommend them.

yes no
 
9/24/2017
RANDALL
BOUNTIFUL, UT
20_stars
Pathfinder LED

Lights are nice, gave 2 stars because the wiring isn't long enough to tie up properly. took me hours to get the wiring out of the way of the front forks.

2 out of 2 people found this helpful
yes no