J&M CB Volume, Mic On/Off Passenger Control

No_photo
9/22/2015
Bruce
Tijeras, NM
10_stars
poor sound volumne and quality

The volume power is weak. At full volume, the co-rider can't really hear the rider. There should be an amplifier n the passenger volume to make it usable.
the volume must be up full blast in order to hear anything.

Save your money.

0 out of 5 people found this helpful
yes no
 
Magick_image.php?path=uploads%2fupload_0001658649
1/24/2015
Guy
Laurel, MT
50_stars
Nice, real nice

Very simple install. Sure makes the ride a lot quieter, and wife loves being able to adjust volume for her own volume pleasure. Just a real nice addition for those that travel a lot.

12 out of 12 people found this helpful
yes no
 
Magick_image.php?path=uploads%2fupload_0001654373
9/14/2014
Reinhard
Queen Creek, AZ
50_stars
# PSCR-GL1800

If I could give 6 stars, I would. The install was done in no time and very easy. The hardest part is to put the seat back on. I can reccorment this unit to everybody. My wife love it. She is now able to talk over the CB radio to others but the good part is, I have the control if they would change cooking receipt. :-)She can now control her own volume. J&M delivered the best products and the best customer service.

15 out of 15 people found this helpful
yes no
 
Magick_image.php?path=uploads%2fupload_0000017377
12/21/2013
Tom
Salisbury, MA
20_stars
Plug and Pray

This is titled 'Plug and Pray' because it is sort of plug it in and pray it works. As most have said, the instructions can be confusing. Plugging in you would think would be the easiest. Fortunately I was able to figure it out and get installed in about an hour.

Regarding the product itself... the item is bulky and gets in the co-rider's way all the time. It attaches to either the right or left seat handle. If you have arm rests, it will interfere if mounted on the external side of the seat handles, then you will need to mount it inside. Either way, the large black cable is very stiff, so it is not flexible to move, making mounting difficult.

The volume control is right out in front, but the volume power is weak. At full volume, the co-rider can't quite hear the rider or the cb. Perhaps we need new J&M headsets in the rear, but I doubt that since I have tried two different J&M headsets and with both, the volume must be up full blast in order to hear anything.

The push-to-talk button is made of a black rubber button, which has fallen off. It lasted for the first ride. With the rubber boot now off the button, there is a white tiny button to depress. J&M didn't think the button design through and should have made it more durable. Now my co-rider cannot speak over the cb radio.

There is a power on/off switch underneath behind the rubber push-to-talk button which you can power on or off the use of the volume control.

I have had this installed for a few years and until a new product is published that beats this one out, I will have to stick with it.

If you need to remove the seat for anything, you must remove this as well. It gets in the way with the seat off. Would be better if this could be mounted separately, elsewhere.

I don't know whether I would recommend this product to anyone, but would warn about the lack of power the volume produces and the fact that the rubber boot on the push-to-talk feature WILL fall off by simply bumping into it.

18 out of 21 people found this helpful
yes no
 
Magick_image.php?path=uploads%2fupload_0001655552
7/23/2013
TaylorsWing
Houston, TX
50_stars
Nice addition for Passenger

The install went very well. Made easy by reading other reviews that gave pointers. The hardest part was getting the darn seat back on with that FAT cable coming out.
Like others we installed ours on the right side of the seat instead of the left. I didn't want it to get in the way of the hand grip for center standing the bike.
Wife loves it, now she can talk on the CB as well.

11 out of 12 people found this helpful
yes no
 
No_photo
5/27/2013
Paul
Castle Rock, CO
10_stars
Very poor instructions

As many folks have pointed out on this site the instructions for this are pure crap. And this should be really easy to connect being basically a plug-and-play item. Unfortunately J&M has made a good product very poor with having to try and interpret their lousy instructions. What a shame.

I can't recommend purchasing this product because they have done such a good job of making something simple difficult. A couple of actual pictures with arrows pointing you to the right places and connections could make this so easy - but they have chosen some crappy diagrams that basically aren't worth the paper are misleading...

5 out of 6 people found this helpful
yes no
 
No_photo
4/15/2013
Patrick
Fairmount, IN
50_stars
You Don't Need to Hook it to Power if no CB

I found this very quick and easy to install. I was scratching my head why you would need to hook this to power. My bike does not have a CB so the "push to talk" function was of no interest to me. On a guess, I didn't take the time to wire it to the battery and ground.

It worked fine for passenger volume control and mute switch without power. The instructions do not tell you that this is an optional connection if you do not have the CB.

So save yourself some steps if you don't have the CB and just plug it in.

I agree with the reviewer before me. One of these connectors was a real bear, while the other was very easy.

16 out of 17 people found this helpful
yes no
 
Magick_image.php?path=uploads%2fupload_0000000244
3/9/2013
Wizard
Georgetown, TX
40_stars
Nice item...but...

As many other reviewers have stated, overall nice, but the install took a bit longer than expected. My neighbor and I tackled this after finishing my CB install. He is a master mechanic and has tools us mortals only dream about! The instructions are poor and certainly could be more clear (maybe a video, J&M??). I was able to find the 6 pin connecters OK, and even found the "black" 2 pin inside the protective black cover. One of the 6 pin connectors was a BEAR to snap together. Took both of us and a pair of channel locks to seat!!

Then came the red/black power connectors. The instructions just say to connect the red to the "positive accessory terminal behind the left side-cover" and the black to the chassis. What it did NOT say, is HONDA actually has two connection points (+/-) on the upper left side of the fuse box beside the battery. Who knew??!!

Routing the heavy cable under the seat frame and in parallel with the helmet comm-cord was a bit of an effort. That cable is thick and stiff.

Despite others, I attached the controller to the left side seat handle and have had no issue getting the bike on the center stand.

12 out of 12 people found this helpful
yes no
 
Magick_image.php?path=uploads%2fupload_0001658130
2/17/2013
MG
Danville, CA
50_stars
Hear no evil

Installed in an hour and have enjoyed it for hours on end. My ride is noise free and my wife's is loud music free.

9 out of 9 people found this helpful
yes no
 
Magick_image.php?path=uploads%2fupload_0001646179
11/22/2012
Batman
SW Florida, FL
50_stars
Awesome Addition

Followed the advice of other reviewers Plug locations under the seat, and mounted on the left (non kickstand)side.

This passenger control works wonders, should be a must

for anyone that rides 2 up. cuts out wind noise, easy PTT allowing passenger to talk on cb, plus lets me jam my tunes without making her deaf!!

Thank You!!!

2 out of 2 people found this helpful
yes no