Freewire Bluetooth Wireless Adapter for Honda Goldwing

No_photo
8/26/2017
Dave
40_stars
Works great! Still a bug or two to figure out....

I bought this unit last month and have it connected to my 1984 Aspencade, paired to my 10S headset. The CB part works great, except I get an echo through the headset when I talk. Haven't figured out how to clear that up - the instructions are not very clear. When I have my Satellite Radio connected into the Au input, I cannot hear the CB conversation - it gets drowned out. I now play the Satellite Radio through the cassette adapter in the on board stereo and it works great. I also seem to lose the connection when using my cell phone. Tapping the red button seems to bring it back on, but is a bit of a pain.
I have also had issues with my passenger Bluetooth connection - it drops out on its own a lot when I am connected to the Freewire. If I turn off the Freewire, my 10S sets work flawlessly. Maybe a limit to the number of devices my 10S can connect to?

1 out of 1 people found this helpful
yes no
 
No_photo
7/14/2017
Jeffery
Anchorage, AK
20_stars
Way over priced and will not pair a second headset

I bought this because I was having issues with a constant "hot mic" on the onboard intercom on my 2012 Wing. As per the description not only here on Wingstuff, but the SENA site as well it reads "Use an additional FreeWire for your passenger to talk over the motorcycle’s internal intercom system – All with the wireless freedom you’ve been longing for." I assumed that means you can't use the onboard intercom ONLY unless you buy a second Freewire. Well, that is not true. The Freewire works with 1 headset just fine. Maybe it's me, but the Freewire I have will not pair with a second headset, therefore the passenger is not able to listen to any of the onboard comm. Maybe there is a way to do it, but the directions are so inadequate that I now just cringe when I think of the performance vs what I paid for it AND I still have to buy another one so the wife can listen to the same stuff I am. Very disappointing. If I find out that it is something I am/am not doing correctly, then I will re-rate it higher.

2 out of 2 people found this helpful
yes no
 
No_photo
6/26/2017
Robert
Laveen, AZ
50_stars
I'm Sold

I pre ordered my freewire waited 2 1/2 months, bought duel S20's now saving for the 2nd freewire for the passenger. Everything I have tested is first rate, sound, phone, CB and mp3 all come in clear. Was a snap to pair installed in left side pocket (on the lid) my only complaint to many wires in the box. If you are ready to cut the cord then this is the what you should use. PS have some tips one where freewire #2 will be mounted.

1 out of 1 people found this helpful
yes no
 
No_photo
3/17/2017
stan0614
50_stars
Great but don’t try to overkill

From the Wireless 20S headset to Freewire - WORKS Great. Really not much to improve on with the basic functionality. CB is now Bluetooth with a simple connection. I can listen to CB, Sat Radio, GPS instructions and talking on the CB people say it is much clearer.

Pair a Mobile phone to the 20S and can take phone calls on the bike. While talking on the phone - communication to the Freewire is on hold. So that works great too.

Pair another 20S to the 20S while connected to freewire - Haven’t figured out when it works and when it doesn’t. Most time I can talk to a buddy on his 20S and CB at the same time. Other times I lose my friend on his bike and have to power off and on the 20S.

FREEWIRE to SENA PRISM CAMERA - NO WAY. Does not work.

Basic CB bluetooth works great. Trying to do more than it was designed for is an error on my part.

5 out of 5 people found this helpful
yes no
 
No_photo
2/28/2017
austin
40_stars
Improvement

I'm a long time user of the SM10 and SR10... both were good at what they do..

The Freewire is something of a "better buggy whip" as CB radio is an old technology with declining use overall. That said.. this product does fill a need to enable a 'wireless' ride at a reasonable price.

What I've found is the quality of sound coming from the wing audio is improved and background noise is better controlled.

If for no other reason than doing a good job of eliminating the wires and maintaining a high quality sound from the wing's audio sources..this is worth the investment

2 out of 2 people found this helpful
yes no
 
No_photo
2/17/2017
Robert
Laveen, AZ
50_stars
Who needs a cord?

I pre ordered mine and waited, and waited almost 2 months it is worth the wait. I have the S20 paired with it and get all the cord provided. I oped to stick in the left pocket box and use the included charge plug. If your going bluetooth you need to get this! The real plus you look waaaaay to cool.

2 out of 2 people found this helpful
yes no
 
No_photo
2/8/2017
FlyingChief
Indio, CA
50_stars
Excellent Product

We made the move to wireless a year ago when we did away with our hardwired headsets and went to the Sena 20s communications system. We love being wireless, but wanted to be able to access the radio and CB on the Goldwing. Here is the solution! The Freewire plugs into the wired helmet connection on the bike and then connects with the Sena headset via bluetooth. Simple. We immediately had full access to full Goldwing audio (radio, CB, Aux, etc) via our wireless Sena headsets. As usual with Sena products, there arent any instructions in the box other than a very simple quickstart guide. Detailed instructions are available on the Sena website.

A couple of things we learned:
- We initially had a LOT of echo in the intercom. Finally figured out that we had both the Sena wireless intercom function on AND the Freewire was also picking up the bike's intercom system and they were fighting each other. Turned off the bike intercom and problem solved.
- There really isn't a simple clean way to mount the Freewire to the bike. They provide a stick-on bracket and an elastic strap for wrapping around the handlebar. Both look kind of funky, but they work. Keep in mind the Freewire isn't waterproof - it is water 'resistant'.
- If you ride 2-up, you need a second Freewire for the passenger. Each Freewire gets paired with it's respective helmet headset. Since both the Freewires look identical, we used a Sharpie to mark which one goes with which helmet.

All in all, we are VERY happy now with our audio/intercom setup. We are completely wireless and that makes things super convenient.

9 out of 9 people found this helpful
yes no