Kuryakyn Chrome Luggage Rack w/Rubber Inlay for GL1800

Magick_image.php?path=uploads%2fupload_0000005231
8/20/2017
Dennis
IN
30_stars
No template on where to place the rack

I was surprised to find no template for the placement of the rack on the trunk. I was planning on putting it on quick one day until I opened the bock and there was no template. I had purchased the spoiler to go along with it, and had to put that on first. I recently bought a new 2017 Goldwing and purchased a bunch of Kuryakyn parts to go on it. So far I've had problem with each one I have put on the bike.

yes no
 
No_photo
7/10/2017
Shea
Colbert, OK
50_stars
Very nice

If you have the brake light spoiler you will need to use the risers. Easy to install and once on, it is snug and has no rattle. I would purchase again.

yes no
 
Magick_image.php?path=uploads%2fupload_0000015075
2/24/2017
Bryce
IA
50_stars
3 years and it still looks good

I bought this rack 3 years ago, and it is still looking great. It may be priced a little higher than the others, but it's built a little better. The chrome doesn't look cheap and there are no pits after 3 years.

I use the rack all the time. It's not just for looks. If I'm not using the fitted Kuryakyn bag, I just use a bungee net to hold stuff down.

If you have a break light / wing on the trunk, make sure you buy the risers that go with the rack. Make sure you follow the instructions to a tee. You want to make sure you have all of your alignment right before you drill!!

2 out of 2 people found this helpful
yes no
 
No_photo
2/24/2017
Bader
Sarasota, FL
50_stars
Easy to fix

Easy to fix looks awesome and high enough to fit with the spoiler. It hold luggages perfectly too

1 out of 1 people found this helpful
yes no
 
Magick_image.php?path=uploads%2fupload_0001642171
12/4/2016
Robert
Lakeland, FL
10_stars
Bad Chrome

I am done with anything Kury. Their chrome is low quality. This rack I s heavy. It will make your trunk rattle. Mine is about 5 years old and looks like the complete garbage that it is.

6 out of 8 people found this helpful
yes no
 
No_photo
11/1/2016
Tee
10_stars
Kuryakyn chrome luggage rack

Looks great for the first 6months, then started pitting with with the Crome coming off, not acceptable for wingstuff to continue selling such trash downgrading their own credibility..

9 out of 11 people found this helpful
yes no
 
Magick_image.php?path=uploads%2fupload_0001657663
5/19/2016
Zig_Zag
Crystal City, MO
30_stars
Installed and Looks Nice

Take your time centering up this rack on trunk lid and laying out hole locations. Instead of drilling 1/4" holes as suggested by Kuryakyn I drilled 7/32" holes and the rack mounted no problem.
The thing that I found unacceptable (3 Star) was the fact that I had to chase the threaded holes out in order to get the mounting hardware to work. If this happens to you the size is #10-24.
Not much of a machinist if you can't drill and tap a hole correctly!!!
Get some Quality Control Kury...

5 out of 6 people found this helpful
yes no
 
Magick_image.php?path=uploads%2fupload_0000008795
1/18/2016
David H
Decatur, AL
10_stars
Sure is pretty for a little while!

On my third set of luggage racks from Kuryaken. The first one last about three years and scratched up very easily and then the chrome just started falling off! Replaced with new luggage rack, took a trip and used the Kuryaken Luggage Bag made for this rack and it scratched up the chrome pretty bad. Installed another rack yesterday and don't plan on using bag with it. For this kind of money you would think they would make a better product. Sure is pretty for a little while!

15 out of 18 people found this helpful
yes no
 
No_photo
12/12/2015
James
Georgetown, TX
30_stars
May have been this batch

Nice add on and have used to carry lite bags, only issue is chrome is peeling off from mounting post.

7 out of 10 people found this helpful
yes no
 
Magick_image.php?path=uploads%2fupload_0001644400
11/19/2015
Walter
Detroit, MI
50_stars
Added Beauty

I purchased the Kuryakyn Luggage Rack for my Honda GL1800. It was not difficult to install. I was afraid to drill holes into my trunk lid. I found the instructions and the Kuryakyn video helpful. If you have a critical eye, you could notice that my rack is a ¼ of an inch off center. The luggage rack gives my bike an extra look and feel that I am riding a beautiful machine. Since my installations, I get more thumbs up from onlookers. Do not forget to add a flag.

7 out of 10 people found this helpful
yes no