Macgyver Diamond Plated Belly Pan for GL1800, F6B

No_photo
2/28/2017
Robert
Tucson, AZ
50_stars
WSMG0856: Macgyver Diamond Plated Belly Pan for GL1800, F6B

It went on fairly easy.innstructions could have been better.i feel more comfortable with it on to protect my oil pan.

yes no
 
Magick_image.php?path=uploads%2fupload_0001653838
2/14/2017
Ron
Montrose, CO
50_stars
Great investment!

I bought this to replace my original vented aluminum belly pan which over 54K miles had seen it's share of abuse. My initial impression of this diamond plated pan was VERY positive. It's a quality, made in the USA product. Yes the install is a bit more challenging, but I followed the included instructions and had the job done inside 15 minutes. I'd recommend this to anyone!

yes no
 
Magick_image.php?path=uploads%2fupload_0001658409
9/26/2016
MemphisMike
Memphis, TN
30_stars
Mixed feelings about this

First off..it is VERY durable and appears it would do its job well. Also, it looks very nice. The negative...The install is a PAIN in the Butt. It took me and another very knowedgeable tech guy to get this installed. You really have to bend this pan and shove hard to get it in place on the 2008 model. Frustration to the point of almost sending it back. 2ndly one of the screws has already stripped and will not hold one side in place after having to remove it once for an oil change. I read where some say instal was nice and easy. Not so with my 2008 Wing. For that reason I would not put it on my recommend List.

yes no
 
Magick_image.php?path=uploads%2fupload_0001658409
9/26/2016
MemphisMike
Memphis, TN
30_stars
Mixed feelings about this

First off..it is VERY durable and appears it would do its job well. Also, it looks very nice. The negative...The install is a PAIN in the Butt. It took me and another very knowedgeable tech guy to get this installed. You really have to bend this pan and shower hard to get it in place on the 2008 model. Frustration to the point of almost sending it back. 2ndly one of the screws has already stripped and will not hold one side in place after having to remove it once for an oil change. I read where some say instal was nice and easy. Not so with my 2008 Wing. For that reason I would not put it on my recommend List.

1 out of 1 people found this helpful
yes no
 
No_photo
8/5/2016
Bevin
California, MO
40_stars
Nice fit!

I read other reviews and was skeptical about the fit. Like others I also have a comment, the fit is very nice. Could be a bit wider to fit more snug. It you follow the direction, I know that is hard for some, however, they are there for a reason and not a waste of paper! Anyway, the reason for 4 and not 5 stars was the dent in the pan as I found it in the box. The box wasn't damaged and the dent was significant. It is after all going to see more and it I had more time to return it I may have, but after all like I said before...It's going to see more! Looks good and fit very well!!

yes no
 
No_photo
4/28/2016
Wendell
Manchester, TN
20_stars
Didn't work for my 2012 Wing

I installed this on my '12 Wing. The slots lined up fine, but the bent sides were not deep enough to slide completely up under the hex nuts. I split the difference between right and left sides to make it work. While riding over a railroad crossing, the pan came out from under the hex nut and began dragging the pavement when turning. I have removed and inspected the pan. It is obviously doing what it is designed to do, protect the bottom of the engine. There are rock dings and scratches all over the pan, but if it won't stay installed, it is dangerous. I wish it would work. It's heavy gauge. It looks good. It just wont stay installed. If someone has a solution to this situation, I would like to hear from you. wendellbs@yahoo.com

6 out of 6 people found this helpful
yes no
 
Magick_image.php?path=uploads%2fupload_0000008391
8/5/2015
Race Texas
Amarillo, TX
50_stars
Nice Pan

Installed nicely. Covers underside fully as advertised. Looks darn good. I'm satisfied with this new addition to my bike.

4 out of 4 people found this helpful
yes no
 
No_photo
2/28/2015
Macgyver0856
Ashdown, AR
50_stars
captain

You purchased a pan from when I first started making them several years ago. They were bent by hand and measured one at a time then. Since then pans have been made on a jig, bent with a brake . All pans come out exactly the same. Each batch I test fit one pan on my bike.

If ever there is a problem my email is on the installation instructions so you can contact me personally for help.

6 out of 8 people found this helpful
yes no
 
Magick_image.php?path=uploads%2fupload_0001656114
11/28/2014
Captain J
IN
10_stars
Save your money

The good part is it's a nice looking belly pan made of a heavier gauge metal than most belly pans. That is where the good part ends. The cut out slots didn't line up at all. I was unable to mount it on my wing.

7 out of 14 people found this helpful
yes no
 
Magick_image.php?path=uploads%2fupload_0001645305
7/29/2014
Randy
Tell City, IN
50_stars
Mac Gyver Belly Pan

I like to say this is a well made item. It took me less then 20 minutes to install on my bike. Looks nice and it is, I believe thicker made then any I have looked at on the market. I gave this item a 5 star.

13 out of 13 people found this helpful
yes no