HyperKewl Soakable Cool Vest

No_photo
7/5/2014
azrocks
Glendale, AZ
50_stars
HyperKewl Cool Vest

It is hard to beat what has already been said but regardless of where you live in the summer you definitely need one of these. As everyone knows in the summer here in Arizona temperatures are in excess of 115 degrees, (in the shade), I soaked my cool vest in ice water this morning put it on and talk about relief from heat. I like this product so well I am going to buy the long sleeve version. I highly recommend this product.

14 out of 14 people found this helpful
yes no
 
Magick_image.php?path=uploads%2fupload_0000011034
6/11/2014
Hammer
Zeeland, MI
50_stars
Saved our bacon in 120 F Heat!

Crossing the Mojave and the Great Plains - it get's hot! Without these vests we would not have made it. Well worth the investment!

13 out of 13 people found this helpful
yes no
 
Magick_image.php?path=uploads%2fupload_0001647102
10/6/2012
Butch
Andrews, TX
50_stars
Worth Its Weight In Gold

I've been using the vest for about four months now and all I can say is where has this thing been for the last thirty years of riding. I use mine even on 85 degree days. My hottest ride so far was West of Del Rio Tx where the temp hit 113 degrees. I've read all the comments about feeling wet, and it only lasts about 90 minutes, etc, but I'm usually ready for a stop at about hour and a half so I just carry it into the rest room and give it a quick soak in the sink while I'm attending to other matters. The dry climate here makes the vest cool extremely well. A dip in the ice chest if you have one makes it a wonderful experience. There are at least two articles of clothing that I refuse to leave home without. One is my HyperKewl vest for hot weather rides and my electric vest when its cold.
Its also kinda fun watching all the looks you get wearing a quilted vest when it's 110 degrees outside.
A few of the Border Patrol agents here have asked all about it and think its a great piece of gear.

38 out of 62 people found this helpful
yes no
 
Magick_image.php?path=uploads%2fupload_0001643488
10/2/2012
GLEN
Rancho Cucamonga, CA
50_stars
Worth the money!

Bought these just a couple of days before leaving on a trip to the Sierra's in Calif. Temps along hwy 395 in high 90's to 100's. Was pulling a trailer with an ice chest on the front. Dipped the vest and away we went. Really cool to start and last about 90 minutes. Found they will last longer if covered with a light cover like nylon wind breaker. Sure makes the ride a lot more comfortable. Also reduces the fatigue factor associated with the heat. Easy to store when not being used.

33 out of 57 people found this helpful
yes no
 
Magick_image.php?path=uploads%2fupload_0000011033
8/21/2012
Les
Elgin, IL
40_stars
Short term cure

Works for about 90 minutes. Humidity plays a role in cooling / duration. More humidity lessens cooling effect. Less humidity aids cooling, shortens duration.
A fine fix for a hot commute. Not a touring item though.
Very much worth the money.

30 out of 55 people found this helpful
yes no
 
Magick_image.php?path=uploads%2fupload_0001648474
7/22/2012
Steven
Leeds, AL
50_stars
Very Good

Tried it for the first time today here in Birmingham....96degrees! The vest is a little heavy when wet, but all I can say is "where has this thing been all my riding life"

31 out of 55 people found this helpful
yes no
 
Magick_image.php?path=uploads%2fupload_0001646493
6/14/2012
Skins92
Santa Rosa, CA
40_stars
Relief for An Hour or so

The vest works well for about an hour. Just got to use for the first time as we traveled through Death Valley, Las Vegas (where it was 106), Grand Canyon and the Monument Valley. Temps were in the 90's for the most part. Did not experience any 'sliminess' as other reviewers have experienced. One of crew is towing a trailer with a cooler on the front. We soaked our vests in the ice water and we actually were extremely cool (almost cold) for the first 20-30 minutes even with temps near 100. After about 45 minutes, effectiveness was much less but still better than without. If you can stop every hour and recharge, it will keep you cool for your ride. I thought about buying a 2nd vest and keeping one in the ice water while wearing the other and alternating them. The price is low enough to put out for another vest.

36 out of 63 people found this helpful
yes no
 
Magick_image.php?path=uploads%2fupload_0000017955
6/8/2012
WA Biker
Seattle's Eastside, WA
40_stars
4 Stars

It's cheap so it dries out quickly, but cools as it does, like it's supposed to. Wife loves it. Just carry water and a bag to recharge it every so often.

4 out of 5 people found this helpful
yes no
 
Magick_image.php?path=uploads%2fupload_0001649394
8/6/2011
zg1286
50_stars

Just got back from Oklahoma and Arkansas last night. Was 112 degrees when I left.
A friend I was visiting. gave me this vest, and it was a Godsend. Yeah, you have to stop every hour or so, but it works. Will never ride in the heat without one again.

5 out of 6 people found this helpful
yes no
 
No_photo
6/14/2011
Bill
Franklin, TN
50_stars

My wife is from Tennessee if I didn't know better I think she is from the show me state. I told her she would see a big difference in the way the heat affected her on a long hot ride. She finally tried the cool vest and now says she doesn't believe she could have finished our 400 mi ride in 90 degree weather without it. She is firm believer in this product.

5 out of 6 people found this helpful
yes no