Progressive Monotube Fork Cartridge Kit for GL1800

Magick_image.php?path=uploads%2fupload_0001644001
8/19/2017
William
OLATHE, KS
10_stars
failed again

I wrote one review and stated that the set had problems at 40,000 and progressive replaced them with another set and I am again having trouble with them and progressive isn't backing them up saying they don't keep records of prior correspondence with customers and if I can't produce the receipt (which I sent them the first time and can't find now) they wont talk with me. I know I have a few miles on them but with a lifetime warranty that they give I wanted to try them. Two failures on same bike (and I don't ride hard just normal riding)not to mention taking them back out of the bike and either installing your stock system again or waiting the three or more weeks to ride again if they do replace them.

yes no
 
Magick_image.php?path=uploads%2fupload_0001661020
4/10/2017
gladeeaytur
50_stars
total makeover

Late summer 2015 on the way down south to LA on I-5 in order to catch the coastal Highway 1 (what a ride), my right fork cartridge had developed a leak. Everything up front had fork fluid all over it, including front brake rotors. On top of that my pre-load on the rear shock was stuck at 0. Wife and I made it back home to Washington state safe(not a comfortable ride, but fun anyway!). When we got back I replaced the the rear shock motor (a friend had an extra), and purchased from Wingstuff the Progressive spring, Progressive mono cartridges, and the Stone G702 70R16.
The first thing that I needed to do was go out to Ebay in order to purchase another side stand for the Wing. The old side stand was to short. I took the newly purchased side stand down to the local fab shop in order to add 3/4 of an inch.
With the changes the Progressive rear spring, the Progressive front Cartridge forks, and the rear tire I gained a significant amount of lean angle before I start dragging pegs (I very seldom drag now).
While all these changes were pretty drastic, may not recommend for everyone, but for me...I would not change a thing on "Large Marge the Party Barge".
Like they say if you have the OEM forks and have never tried the Progressive Cartridges, you'll never know what you are missing. I still do recommend, as an upgrade.

1 out of 1 people found this helpful
yes no
 
No_photo
3/27/2017
Rusty Lugnut
50_stars
Big improvement

I just installed these oin my '02 GL1800 and could not believe the difference. the front end is stiffer, but more compliant- i did add the spacers provided- and it is perfect for solo or 2 up. Ride is smoother and teh bike sts higher, which I like. If I got a new GW, I would do this right away.

yes no
 
No_photo
2/24/2017
thekid
50_stars
great product

had them installed by local dealer, included the bushing & seal kit.....makes the bike handle so well....wish I did this sooner

yes no
 
No_photo
9/16/2016
Charles
Sand Springs, OK
50_stars
Great Shocks

Installed these on a 2006 Goldwing, I took a 3,000 mile trip to the smokey mountains and these shocks made a huge difference in the bike and the way it handled. It was much smoother and I did not feel so much of the road vibration in the handle bars. I would highly recommend this upgrade over the stock OEM shocks.

1 out of 1 people found this helpful
yes no
 
No_photo
9/8/2016
samuriboy
AZ
50_stars
Progressive Monotube Update- 3 years later

I have a 2010 Honda GoldWing GL1800 - Audio/Comfort - Base Model. I have 60,500 miles on the bike. I replaced the old factory springs with (I believe the 1st Gen) Mono tubes on 04/02/13 with 37,592 miles on the clock. I have rebuilt the forks once, since the replacement of the mono tubes, only due to my negligence of messing up the left side seal when I installed the mono tubes. I left the messed up seal in the fork tube and the seal lasted for 2 years. The rebuild was at 02/15/15 with 50,720 miles. 
       
My problem is that I have excessive bouncing on any road surface specifically on smooth roads. As far as I can tell, the forks are not compressing when hitting the smaller bumps causing the excessive bounce. Larger bumps, the forks are compressing or absorbing the bump like they are supposed to. This bouncing has started in the last 3 weeks. Prior to this problem, the mono tubes worked perfectly fine.  

Speeds when noticeable: 30-45mph, does not matter if I am the only rider or 2 up.


What I have done to try to diagnose the problem.

1. Lower tire pressure to 38 in the front and 42 in the rear.

2. Loosen up the fork caps to release air in tubes.

3. Disable Anti Dive Valve.

4. Adjust rear shock preload from 0-25. I rode the bike on every setting and the bounce is still there.

 A little more info.
1. My weight is 170 lbs with my riding gear; full face helmet, summer jacket with body armor, gloves and textile riding pants over jeans.
2. I used one shim on each tube, I prefer a stiffer ride.
3. I used Honda Fork Oil SS8 10w and replaced all the bushings seals and dust covers both times. 
4. Added the necessary quantity per instructions for each fork leg.
5. Front Tire is 2 years and 2 months old with 14,987 miles, tread depth 3/32”
6. Rear Tire is 3 years and 5 months old with 28,375 miles, tread depth 3/32”An update on my 2010 Honda Goldwing GL1800 with Audio and Comfort (Base Model), I finally had time to replace the front and rear tires with Dunlop Elite 3’s, the steering head bearings with All Balls, and wheel bearings and seals with Honda OEM. My test ride home was about 36 miles from the shop I had the repair done at. My second test ride was to a work meeting approximately 38 miles. This gave me more time in the saddle to realize that the problem was still there. The bounce can be described as a springy type bouncing.

On 05/20/16, after my meeting and on my way home, I decided to go ahead and disassemble the front forks and inspect the Progressive Mono Tubes (PMT) and rebuild them by replacing the PMT’s, oil, seals, and bushings. Three hours later, I had the all the parts in hand and started disassembling the right fork.

Once the right fork was disassembled, I inspected the PMT and noticed nothing out of the ordinary. I tried compressing the spring by pushing down from above (standing position with the bottom of the tube on the floor and the mono tube and spring closest to my hand) and found it very difficult. I did this with the one shim installed and removed. The Honda SS8 fluid was still red and the bushings looked like they were still new. No metal shavings or plastic chunks when I drained the fluid.

The left PMT, with the anti dive valve, I found the spring to be bulging to one side with or without the shim. I also noticed that at the end of the mono tube (gas side), the plastic spacer was misaligned and it looked like the larger spacer is missing. Again, trying to compress it from above, it was very hard to compress with the shim installed and removed. The Honda SS8 fluid was still red and the bushings looked like they were still new. No metal shavings or plastic chunks when I drained the fluid.

Now comparing my old PMT’s to the new ones, I noticed that the spring thickness was a lot thinner than the older ones and the coil spacing was less from the top and bottom (or tighter wound). When I purchased the PMT’s in early 2013, I believe these were the first generation on PMT’s(??). What generation are the ones I have now? I decided to not put the one shim in per what the instructions said and I finished the job and took the bike bike off the center stand and noticed a dramatic drop in ride height, once all the weight was on 2 wheels. It was dark and late in the evening so I only had a chance to ride it up and down the street twice, I noticed a very dramatic difference when i rode up and down the street. I have 211 miles on the new tires and they are getting better by the mile. Tire pressures are; Front 38.5 and Rear 43.5 Psi +/- 2Psi. Date of Manufacture are; Front 3915 and Rear 0515. I have 112 miles on the new PMT’s with no more spring type bouncing at the speeds I listed in my emails. As a matter of fact, the ride is 110% better with the problem being solved.

0 out of 1 people found this helpful
yes no
 
Magick_image.php?path=uploads%2fupload_0001660093
5/16/2016
aso432
50_stars
Mono Tube Progressive Shocks 2012

Okay, I have been reading the feedbacks on the shocks. I bit the bullet and purchased a set as well as set of all ball bearings for the stem as well as for the front wheel. I also purchased a fork brace.
I did the installation. I watched the video several times.
Changing the monotubes was easy however, the bottom fork nut was hard to torque. The top monotube would spin so I used a blue (Med) threadlock to hold the nut. I got it close to the recommended torq spec. The installation was very easy. Before installing the shocks on my bike I replaced stem bearings with All ball bearings. I followed the correct procedure for installing the bearings and correct Torq spec. I also used a Fish Scale to make sure it was at the right spec. I installed the forks on the bike. I torq all of the nuts. I removed the OEM bearings in my front wheel. It took me about 15 minutes to change out the bearings with New All ball bearings.
I installed the front wheel. It took me about 6 hours to disassemble and install the forks.
The day after installing the forks and bearings, I went on a 4 day trip from Gainesville Florida to Cherokee NC. The front of the bike was a little bumpy at first. The bumpy feeling subsided as I was riding up to NC. I guess the springs were breaking in. Although it felt bumpy, the ride overall was smoother. When I hit bumps, there was no downward bottoming out like before.
The next 2 days of riding in the mountains was even better. The suspension was nice and tight and very smooth. I owned a 2008 Ultra classic and the front suspension was way better than my OEM 2012 GL1800 suspension. The suspension on my GL1800 now feels more like the Ultra Classic suspension. I did not install the 2 spacers for a softer ride. The Progressive instructions mention that you will more than likely won't need to install the spacers. I didn't install them and I dont plan on installing them at this time. All in all I give the shocks an A+.
Note The ride is way different than OEM, but like anything that you are used too, it will take time to adjust. I put `1500 miles on the bike in 4 days and I wont go back to OEM

5 out of 5 people found this helpful
yes no
 
Magick_image.php?path=uploads%2fupload_0001657663
4/16/2016
Zig_Zag
Crystal City, MO
50_stars
Monotube Cartridge Kit ++++

I installed these Monotube Cartridges a year ago along with Trax-Rite triple tree. The Ride is awesome now compared to the stock set up from Honda. I love the ride now...so much nicer. I would recommend these to all. Don't forget to replace the other internal parts in your forks...all sold here at WingStuff!!
You'll wonder why you waited so long to do this upgrade.

1 out of 2 people found this helpful
yes no
 
Magick_image.php?path=uploads%2fupload_0001658130
3/5/2016
MG
Danville, CA
50_stars
Dramatic Ride Improvement

I followed the video and found the install easy. With only 50K on my 2012 I did not realize these would make such an improvement.

5 out of 5 people found this helpful
yes no
 
Magick_image.php?path=uploads%2fupload_0001659389
9/18/2015
Rick
Brainerd, MN
50_stars
Should be factory standard!

I was tired of the jolt from holes. These make it smooth like the Cadillac of bikes should be. They did raise the front where I noticed it but my feet are still flat on the ground. My install is done by a dealer and is not a cheep installation. I needed seals too and of course fluid. Came to $325.00 The new ride is worth it though.

4 out of 5 people found this helpful
yes no