Gloss Black ISO Grips for Heated Grips

Magick_image.php?path=uploads%2fupload_0001661659
11/16/2017
SCOTT
HUNTSVILLE, TX
30_stars
Installed

First off these grips are very large in diameter, examine the ends before you try putting the caps on one of mine had so much paint inside that it broke the very fragile screw. Do they work, yes rode 200 miles after install hands were good to go. Install tip.. I used worm gear hose clamps to get them tight enough to install screws.

yes no
 
Magick_image.php?path=uploads%2fupload_0001652808
3/27/2017
The Walrus
WA
50_stars
I can feel the heat

Install was a PITA as others have noted. Zip ties and 2 hose clamps did the trick though. with a little bit of rubber hose under the clamps to prevent nicks.
I was not as immediately impressed with these as I was the chrome ones that I put on the 2003. They are thicker around so will take a bit of getting used too. Still better than the skinny stock grips.
It was 48 degrees, I wore my thin gloves and had no problem feeling the heat through. My hands get cold at those temps without heat and they stayed nice and warm. Set to high then reduced to medium.

1 out of 1 people found this helpful
yes no
 
No_photo
3/10/2017
Tim
Cape Coral, FL
30_stars
Difficult

I received and installed the grips but what a bear to do. I used the Windex advice and the sleeve slid on easily. I found that also using Windex on top of the sleeve helped get the two halves together. I slowly used my thumbs to work the rubber up into each slot of the metal. I also had to use channel locks with a rag covering the grip to get them to snap into place. I have installed other sets of grips and this was by far the most difficult. They do however, feel better than the tiny things OEM grips Honda uses. I've seen tricycles with thicker grips.

1 out of 1 people found this helpful
yes no
 
No_photo
2/27/2017
Sloms
Saskatoon, CA
40_stars
Right Fit

These are a great addition for holding on to the handlebars. My hands and forearms became cramp free with the installation. It was a challenge to install the grips on the handle bars but once on they looked fabulous. Two problems with the grips. First of all because of the thicker grips I do not feel any heat from the heated grips reach my hands. The second problem deals with the black covering peeling off. At least with the black color it is not that noticeable. I still recommend this product because of the comfort of the thicker grip.

yes no
 
Magick_image.php?path=uploads%2fupload_0001654239
11/9/2016
Larry
Jacksonville, FL
50_stars
Feels Great!!!

I added these to my 2012 to replace the foam grips I installed shortly after buying the bike. I had my concerns about these grips properly transferring the heat from the OEM grips, but they do a great job at transferring the heat to my hands. The installation was easy. I suggest using Windex liberally when sliding these grips over the OEM grips. The Windex will remain wet long enough for you to position the grips. The instructions suggest you wait a couple of hours after installing these before operating the motorcycle. This is to insure the new grips are dry and will not slide during operation, but you can shorten this time by using a heat gun after installation is complete to dry the Windex solution. I installed these with the Throttle master and colored rings to complete the look and comfort.The Grips and throttle master all come with the short and long screws needed for the install. Use a medium strength Lock tight (blue) on the screws.

2 out of 4 people found this helpful
yes no
 
Magick_image.php?path=uploads%2fupload_0000009384
10/16/2016
Craig
Duluth, GA
10_stars
What's the point part 3

OK....if you follow this around you'll see the point. First time i've ordered something from Kury that has failed so spectacularly. So I ordered the Black heated grip covers..figured I'd add the bar weights too...so...grips failed...therefore these extension rings failed and further more the weights were in turn useless. This was about the worst I've ever been stung for a waste of money. All told...over $125 for nothing. Total disappointment.

I followed the instructions....fail....went to youtube...tried their fix of cutting the rubber in half and installing....falied....tried zip ties...tried lock wrench....tried vise grip....tried cinch rope....those little screws finally gave up the ghost...pressure way too high for grips anyway. Think they really ought to just stick to Foot pegs and "trinkets". This was a complete bust. Great looking idea...but...not happening.

3 out of 6 people found this helpful
yes no
 
No_photo
10/6/2016
BamBam
40_stars
Not as bad to install as I thought

I looked on Youtube and found a video that talked about using a very small amount of dish soap instead of the Windex. I then installed half of the clamp on and slid all that onto the grip. Then used zip ties to SLOWLY tighten and work the other half of the clam shell. Total time was about 40 minutes. They look and feel great.

2 out of 4 people found this helpful
yes no
 
No_photo
10/5/2016
Catbird
40_stars
Different methods to install

These things CAN be very difficult to install. I had a terrible time. I used the dog leash method, the zip ties method, and the channel lock pliers method. All failed. In fact, I broke both grips trying to get the clamshell-like pieces to snap together over each of my stock grips. I returned them and WingStuff gave me a second set for which I was very grateful. The second install attempt went much more smoothly because I tried a different method. I used the zip ties to slowly draw the clamshell pieces together and hold them as I squeezed them together as much as I could by hand. Then for the critical final closure event I used hose clamps with a cloth between the clamp and the grip so I wouldn't scratch it. I screwed the clamp down until the clamshell looked snug and I left it that way over night. Next day I removed the clamps and zip ties and the clamshells stayed shut. I'll let you know if they come apart.
The grips are significantly fatter than a normal grip because they install on TOP of the stock grips. They really fill the hand.
I also added the end weights, the required color ring, and a throttle boss type thing.

2 out of 4 people found this helpful
yes no
 
No_photo
8/17/2016
JK
Norwalk, CT
10_stars
ISO grips

Very disappointed with these. While difficult to get on the real issue is that they hang up the throttle by pinching the heated grip on the end toward the switch housing. Struggled with these for two days and finally give in. Save yourself time, money and aggravation and buy some foam slip on grips.

1 out of 2 people found this helpful
yes no
 
Magick_image.php?path=uploads%2fupload_0001659698
6/8/2016
Dave
South Bend , IN
50_stars
Love the blacked out look!

Installed these on my F6B and full Gold Wing, the stock grips are too skinny for my hands. On the throttle side, watch the gap between the grip and the switch housing interface. Mine was too tight and the throttle hung up a bit. A small adjustment to the switch housing gap and all was well. The grips take a bit longer to warm up but after that they seem to work fine. Really like the appearance also, especially with the optional colored trim rings.

2 out of 3 people found this helpful
yes no