Gloss Black ISO Grips for Heated Grips

Magick_image.php?path=uploads%2fupload_0001652886
11/17/2018
The Raz
Sierra Vista, AZ
40_stars
Nice Looking, but?

I have a set of these on my 2013 and have been thinking of transferring 'em to my 2018 Tour. I hate Honda's little grips and need a little larger. I had no problem installing them on the '13 but, the trade-off is these don't allow enough heat to come through.
Big Bike Parts used to make "replacement" heated grips for the Wing that were a little larger around and were "almost" as warm as the stock grips.

yes no
 
No_photo
9/27/2018
D C
10_stars
Earlier review stands... DO NOT BUY THESE

So I got the replacement set from Wingstuff, no complaints with them their customer service is excellent.

But... the new set. I took an X-acto knife and carefully carved away all the black coating in the screw holes. Before I did that... I couldn't finger-tighten the screws into ANY of the holes. Not a single one. It's almost unbelievable these are allowed to leave the factory like this.

But anyways... I X-acto'd out all of the holes, and then I was able to start putting the screws into some of them. But there were still 3 that were just really fighting me.

I with the UTMOST of care tried to apply just a little more pressure and sure enough, the screw broke, leaving a chunk of itself down in the threads. I tried to drill it out but no go.

These grips are so poorly made with the sloppy application of the black coating (and beyond ridiculously weak screws) that I'm seriously in shock they're being sold as a ready-to-use product.

Now I've gone through 2 sets of these... and the simple act of just screwing in the screws can't be accomplished. Either I'm a complete idiot, or these just flat-out aren't being subjected to any kind of quality control.

12 out of 13 people found this helpful
yes no
 
No_photo
9/13/2018
D C
10_stars
Addendum to previous review

Ok... so after talking to Kuryakyn, they authorized Wingstuff to send me a new set upon condition I return the old ones.

Fair enough. Going back to box them up, I grabbed one of the non-broken screws and tried just screwing them into the shell pieces while holding them in my hand. Out of 12 screw holes, the screw would only go into 3 of them.

3.

So I was like, "Ok... what the $!#$!"???

Took a really close look and the black coating was so thick that it was encroaching into the screw openings where the threads are.

I don't mean random flakes and chunks that you could get out with a toothpick or by blowing on it, I mean the holes were too small for the screw to go into to even reach the threads. This also speaks rather poorly for the quality of the screws (haha) that just trying to twist them through the black coating snaps the heads off and leaves a chunk down in the threads.

But whatever... I'm getting a new set, and I'm already out the $100+ with shipping, so I'll give them another shot. I definitely won't be using their screws, and I'm not sure what to do if the new set also has the same issue with the black coating.

Get out a sewing needle and a miniature hammer and try to chisel it away? I have a drimel but no attachment remotely small enough to cut it away. These holes are SMALL, so I guess I'll just cross my fingers the new set doesn't have this issue.

8 out of 8 people found this helpful
yes no
 
No_photo
9/13/2018
D C
10_stars
Run, do not walk, away from these

Was putting them on a 2018 Goldwing. I watched all the videos, read all the reviews, so I had a good idea what to expect.

I cleaned out the holes, used zip-ties to squeeze them together, made sure the tabs engaged etc. etc.

Got the first grip on, the metal shell over it, all the rubber pulled up through the holes, made sure all the holes lined up and gingerly put in the first 2 screws finger-tight. So far so good.

Then went to do the end cap, verified the holes still lined up, and gingerly went to put in a screw. It met a slight bit of resistance so I took it back out and re-verified the holes lined up. Tried again and same thing. So I applied a little more pressure and the head broke off.

I thought "Damn! Well, I can live with 3 since these look so cool." And..... tried a different hole and exact same thing happened. We're talking very little resistance and no, I wasn't cross-threading them or anything.

Come on... how are they supposed to go in, by wishing? Absolutely ridiculous.

So that was that, I immediately pulled it back off and basically lit $91 on fire because Wingstuff won't take it back unless it's still in unopened packaging.

Obviously some people DO get these on without a hitch, but trust your instincts when you see so many people saying they had problems. These are simply not ready for prime-time in their manufacturing, too many variables and beyond cheap/shoddy screws and pre-drilling.

You *might* get a well-made set, but then again... you might get mine.

13 out of 13 people found this helpful
yes no
 
Magick_image.php?path=uploads%2fupload_0001656510
7/31/2018
Shane
Carlisle, PA
50_stars
Great grips - take some extra care installing

I really like these grips but have to agree they may be a little too large for some people. I carefully read all the installation concerns from the reviews and decided to use regular silicone spray to help with the installation. I think you could probably use any type of lubricant such as dish soap, windex, WD40 etc., but you shouldn’t try to install them dry. It is also a good idea to run/tap the screws into the holes on the back side of the grips before installing them because there may be some left over powder coat from the factory in the tops of the threads that can interfere with the installation. I also snapped the halves together several times before installing to get them worked in and so that I could get a good idea how they're supposed to look and how much pressure was needed to snap together. I then used 3 tie wraps per side and slowly drew both ends together and carefully installed the screws. After I took all the precautions, installation went pretty smoothly.

2 out of 2 people found this helpful
yes no
 
Magick_image.php?path=uploads%2fupload_0000007746
6/20/2018
Ruud
NL
20_stars
Looks and feels great, but very bad screws

I viewed some video's first, so installation wasn't too bad, but the tiny bolts break so easily that I had to drill 3 of them out and replace the bolts with proper ones.
It feels great and looks good, but Kuryakyn should do something about these terrible little bolts.

5 out of 5 people found this helpful
yes no
 
Magick_image.php?path=uploads%2fupload_0001661659
11/16/2017
SCOTT
HUNTSVILLE, TX
30_stars
Installed

First off these grips are very large in diameter, examine the ends before you try putting the caps on one of mine had so much paint inside that it broke the very fragile screw. Do they work, yes rode 200 miles after install hands were good to go. Install tip.. I used worm gear hose clamps to get them tight enough to install screws.

1 out of 1 people found this helpful
yes no
 
Magick_image.php?path=uploads%2fupload_0001652808
3/27/2017
The Walrus
WA
50_stars
I can feel the heat

Install was a PITA as others have noted. Zip ties and 2 hose clamps did the trick though. with a little bit of rubber hose under the clamps to prevent nicks.
I was not as immediately impressed with these as I was the chrome ones that I put on the 2003. They are thicker around so will take a bit of getting used too. Still better than the skinny stock grips.
It was 48 degrees, I wore my thin gloves and had no problem feeling the heat through. My hands get cold at those temps without heat and they stayed nice and warm. Set to high then reduced to medium.

4 out of 5 people found this helpful
yes no
 
No_photo
3/10/2017
Tim
Cape Coral, FL
30_stars
Difficult

I received and installed the grips but what a bear to do. I used the Windex advice and the sleeve slid on easily. I found that also using Windex on top of the sleeve helped get the two halves together. I slowly used my thumbs to work the rubber up into each slot of the metal. I also had to use channel locks with a rag covering the grip to get them to snap into place. I have installed other sets of grips and this was by far the most difficult. They do however, feel better than the tiny things OEM grips Honda uses. I've seen tricycles with thicker grips.

2 out of 2 people found this helpful
yes no
 
No_photo
2/27/2017
Sloms
Saskatoon, CA
40_stars
Right Fit

These are a great addition for holding on to the handlebars. My hands and forearms became cramp free with the installation. It was a challenge to install the grips on the handle bars but once on they looked fabulous. Two problems with the grips. First of all because of the thicker grips I do not feel any heat from the heated grips reach my hands. The second problem deals with the black covering peeling off. At least with the black color it is not that noticeable. I still recommend this product because of the comfort of the thicker grip.

1 out of 1 people found this helpful
yes no