SMH10 Single Unit Stereo Bluetooth Helmet Headset

Magick_image.php?path=uploads%2fupload_0001649594
8/3/2015
TKW
Manassas, VA
40_stars
Nice unit

I ride a Goldwing and have wired headsets for Nav, Radio, CB and passenger communication. I bought unit (and another helmet to put it in) this solely for the purpose of being able to make/receive phone calls when riding alone.

I initially had some synch problems, but after a little time on google, I was able to solve the problem myself.

I haven't used it as often as I thought I would, which means each time I have to re-learn how it works which is a pain. However, after I go through that process, it seems to work as directed.

I'm giving it 4 instead of 5 because it seems complicated to me, but in all honesty, that might be because I don't use it frequently enough for the operational process to become second nature. As I said, it does seem to work as intended.

1 out of 2 people found this helpful
yes no
 
Magick_image.php?path=uploads%2fupload_0000008132
7/25/2012
Red Bull
Huntsville, AL
10_stars
Rating Lowered to one Star

The system itself is great. And now the "However". Once you get the SMH10 dual headset, and the SM10 Bluetooth stereo audio adapter, you can do whatever EXCEPT communicate on the CB. You can listen but you can not transmit. Per Wingstuff, to be able to talk on the CB, you will need item JMJBLUBHDG06CA01, JMJBLUBHDG06, and two JMHSEBLU629EDROF headsets. Per SENA, the SMH10 headset is NOT compatible with the above mentioned J&M products. The J&M system is over $1K but you have full capability. SENA system, SNH10, SM10, and the 5 Pin Interface DIN Cable For Honda Gold Wing will cost around $450.00. I chose the SENA system minus full CB capability, but the one Star rating remains.

4 out of 8 people found this helpful
yes no
 
Magick_image.php?path=uploads%2fupload_0000008132
7/13/2012
Red Bull
Huntsville, AL
20_stars
Rating for Comment below.

1 out of 2 people found this helpful
yes no
 
Magick_image.php?path=uploads%2fupload_0000008132
7/13/2012
Red Bull
Huntsville, AL
50_stars
SMH10

2-star rating at this time because all I can do is talk with my wife using this system. May be upgraded with everything is installed.

First let me explain that I do not text, take pictures, or anything else with my phone except make calls. I am not up on this "Bluetooth" technology. Did not need it until now.

After purchasing the SMH10 (dual pack) I was very excited; no more cables from my Goldwing to the helmets. Unfortunately, I was not able to install the intercom system because both of my Bell helmets were on backorder. The helmets finally arrived from Bell and I install the SMH10. Found out the system was not compatible with my Goldwing. All I could do was talk with my wife; lucky me. I immediately called SENA and explained my problem and application. SENA informed me that I now need to buy the SM10 Bluetooth Stereo Transmitter as well as the 3.5mm Stereo Jack to 5 pin DIN Cable (SC-A0121). When that equipment arrives (mid-Aug) and I get it installed, I will write again and update this product review, letting you know if this system will work on the Goldwing radio, GPS, CD, and iPod or if I have to send the entire SENA system back. If you do talk with SENA about this, make sure you get the name of the person you talk to and their extension. I even recorded the conversation because I do not want to get stuck with $450.00 of useless equipment.

1 out of 2 people found this helpful
yes no
 
Magick_image.php?path=uploads%2fupload_0000018048
3/22/2012
Ron Anderson
Cameron Park, CA
50_stars
Reassessment of Sena Bluetooth

I have to say, I wrote a couple of scathing reviews about this product, but, in my defense, as my wife will tell you, I'm very obstinate and won't admit when I'm wrong. In this case, I am/was...but don't tell her.

It is true that my first pair wouldn't sync. It is also true that Sena technical support accused me of not following thier very simple directions (which is where I probably should have stayed a little calmer).

However, the outcome is much more positive. After reading my review(s) on Wingstuff.com, I was contacted by Rick Grassadonia the North America Sales Manager for Sena through the Wingstuff website email.

He made arrangements to have me ship my dual pair set back to him directly and he had them replaced. He also went as far as upgrading my units to the the newer v2.0 models which allows for firmware updates (really cool). Thanks Rick, great customer support!

The new units work perfectly! That's right, they work great! They DO sync up for intercom use with my wife(maybe not the brightest side of this story). I can receive and make phone calls. The jog dial is very easy to manipulate (although my wife still bumps mine from time to time with her head). And with the Gold Wing 5 pin to 3.5mm adapters I purchased from Wingstuff.com, I can use some of Gold Wings' on board audio functions.

Overall, I would highly recommend this product to anyone who is looking for a Bluetooth solution to audio, phone and intercom functionality on their Gold Wing.

In fact, I like them so much now, I just placed an order for another dual setup for a friend for his birthday present!

5 out of 7 people found this helpful
yes no
 
No_photo
8/23/2011
Pinnacle
40_stars

Just installed the SMH10's on HJC Helmets. I followed the Sena pairing videos on their website to pair the sets to each for intercom and then to my Garmin 665 GPS unit. The Garmin was also paired to my I phone. So far the product works very well and totally as advertised. I can accept I phone calls through Garmin(and paired through Sena to Helment), and also recieve Nav directions as well. Nav and Phone overrides the intercom, which makes sense to me. The speaker quality and clarity is excellant. There is a slight delay between pushing the jog switch and the unit opening up the communication link for intercom, but not unreasonable. I have only used them for very short distance at this time, but leaving for an 8,000 mile trip the first week of September and will provide supplemental review upon our return or in route. So far, they seem like really easy units to you and for me I really like the simplicity of the system compared to others I looked at. Only rated as 4 stars because I don't have any long distance useage. The install and the pairing for both helmets and to phone and GPS all took less than 30 minutes complete.

3 out of 5 people found this helpful
yes no
 
Magick_image.php?path=uploads%2fupload_0000018048
8/22/2011
Ron Anderson
Cameron Park, CA
10_stars

Here's my update to my original review. They (Sena headsets) still don't work as advertised. After working with one of the SENA technical people over the phone and basically being accused of not following the simple 4 step directions in the manual, they eventually sent me a new pair of headsets. The new pair did sync for intercom use, but when synced the Bluetooth functions didn't work!

It seems as if you have to choose one feature or the other, you can't have them all.

I just returned from 2500 mile trip from California to Yellowstone where I tried dilligently to get all the features to work. My wife finally told me to turn them off, put them away and forget about it.

I'm glad the other reviewer got them to work. For me, this was a waste of $400 (Oh yeah, I had to buy additional special mounts so they would fit my HJC SyMax II helmets). I'm thinking I should have gone with a wired solution or one of SENA's competitors.

One last note, the jog dial is a disaster. I thought it was a really cool feature at first. One bump, ever so slight and it sends the headset into limbo.

Because of where I had to mount them on my HJC helmets, the are more rear facing than side and occasionally my wife would accidently bump my jog dial and turn off the intercom and put it into limbo mode.

1 out of 6 people found this helpful
yes no
 
Magick_image.php?path=uploads%2fupload_0001640019
8/6/2011
Radarsdad
Las Vegas, NV
50_stars

This is a follow up to my previous review...

I took the Sena Bluetooth headsets out for a ride this morning. My wife didn't feel like going so she manned the phone at home. I started out wearing my helmet using earbuds with the optional Sena earbud mount, and my MP3 player connected as well. While listening to my tunes, I pressed the phone button on the headset, which opened the bluetooth voice commands on my Droid X. I said "call home" and the phone dialed and my wife answered. She said it sounded great with only a very slight waterfall type sound in the background (wind at 70 mph). When we finished, I tapped the phone button and the call was terminated and my music resumed. A few minutes later, my music was interrupted by an incoming call tone. I tapped the phone button and it was my wife calling to make sure it worked for incoming calls as well. Sound quality was excellent with the earbuds.

Half way through the ride, I put on my wife's helmet which uses the speakers that come standard with the units. I made phone calls and listened to my music and the sound was excellent as well (but obviously not as good as the earbuds due to increased exterior noises).

Because I was alone, I could not try the intercom feature but I'm sure it is as good as, if not better than the phone/music quality.

My MP3 player has been acting up lately so when I got home, I started surfing for bluetooth MP3 players when it donned on me that my Droid X has a MP3 player built in. I launched my music player with the phone paired to the Sena and viola; I have bluetooth stereo music through the headset, with intercom and phone service as well. the intercom overides the music and the phone overides both intercom and music features.

Additionally, a few years ago I purchased (from Wingstuff) an adapter that plugs into the intercom cord on the Goldwing and converts the 5 pin Din to a 3.5mm headphone jack for audio listening. You can use this adapter along with the 3.5mm extension cable that comes with the Sena headset to listen to your Wing's audio system (radio/nav system) as well.

I've never used J&M or Scala Rider headsets so I cannot compare the Sena to them, but I do know I am very impressed with the Sena sound quality and its numerous features and would highly recommend them to anyone.

4 out of 5 people found this helpful
yes no
 
Magick_image.php?path=uploads%2fupload_0001640019
7/29/2011
Radarsdad
Las Vegas, NV
50_stars

Hopefully RNA got his issues resolved.

I'd never heard of the Sena Bluetooth headsets until I noticed an advertisement on Goldwing Owners Forum. I clicked on the link which took me to the Sena website which had several instructional videos about pairing the headset with other headsets, and other assorted bluetooth (and wired) accessories. I was impressed with many features of the product so I began searching for product reviews, which were all positive.

I've been considering blutooth headsets for my wife and I but was unsure of which one to buy. After reading the reviews and watching the videos, I decided to try the Sena.

Because I often wear earbuds with my MP3 player to block out wind noise, I ordered a pair of the helmet clamp kits for earbuds (P/N SMH-A0303) from another vendor because I didn't see them on Wingstuff. These clamp kits, as well as everything that comes with the units is very hgh quality and easily installed.

I installed the mounts that came with the units in my Shoei Multitec and my wife's Shoei J-Wing helmets and the sound through the wired speakers is excellent. I installed the mount for earbuds on my J-Wing helmet and the sound quality through earbuds is excellent as well. I hope to get out next weekend for a road trip to test the sound quality while moving.

The pairing process worked flawlessly, both with the other unit, and with my Droid X. Phone calls take priority over intercom functions, which take priority over wired or blutooth MP3 players.

I've only tried them out in the house, but like what I see/hear so far.

4 out of 5 people found this helpful
yes no
 
Magick_image.php?path=uploads%2fupload_0000018048
6/16/2011
Ron Anderson
Cameron Park, CA
10_stars

Wait...What! Addendum to my previous review. The initial date that I sent requested support via their website should have read 06/13/11 not 06/31/11. So, it's been 4 business days and no contact from SENA (not -18 days). I guess I was just so po'd I wasn't paying attention to what I was typing.

1 out of 5 people found this helpful
yes no
 
30_stars
$156.75 to $164.25
return to product page