Lithium High Amp Battery for Honda Gold Wing

Magick_image.php?path=uploads%2fupload_0001642442
6/25/2013
Muleskinner
Hot Springs Village, AR
50_stars
Great Products & Customer Service from Shorai

I bought the Shorai LFX18L1-BS12 (270 CCA) for my 2006 Gold Wing from Wingstuff in May, 2011, for $159.29. I was very impressed with the battery and loved how I never had to worry about finding a dead bike due to battery failure.

However after accidently leaving a light on the bike for a couple days, I went out to find the battery totally discharged. I put the charger on the battery and brought it back up to 113.2 volts. However after removing the charger the battery would drop back to 110.1 volts within a very short time and remain there. The battery manual warned that a total discharge of the battery might damage it to the point of no recovery, which it had.

After reading the original warranty I noticed that an "over-discharge (i.e. resting voltage allowed to fall below 12.8V/6.4V for LFX 12V/6V types) might void the warranty, but if not so the warranty for a battery in it's 25th month would be prorated at 25% off MSRP. Since the MSRP was $189.95, I would need to pay $142.46 to get a warranty replacement.

However, just to see how they would handle it, I sent a warranty request to Shorai, including the information of the total discharge. To my surprise they promptly responded that not only were they honoring the warranty, but that they were upgrading me 2 levels to the LFX27L3-BS12, a 405 CCA battery. The MSRP on the upgrade was $275 and the Wingstuff price was $234. However they were just charging me $86 for the warranty exchange. Plus, they shipped the replacement out to me the same day, without my having to first send in my defective battery.

So my review of the Shorai batteries are that they are great products that should give you years of use but that the Shorai customer service is even fantastic by itself.

20 out of 21 people found this helpful
yes no
 
Magick_image.php?path=uploads%2fupload_0001655536
6/13/2013
Dennis
Avon, IN
50_stars
Best and last battery for my Goldwing

I have now had the largest, SRLFX36L3BS12, model installed for almost a year. This is by FAR the best and likely last battery I will need or have for my GL1800. It has 540 cold cranking amps which is equal to or better than most cars! It is slightly narrower but fits perfectly with a little phone installed on each side that is provided. My bike sat for 4 months with no battery charger and fired up perfectly this spring. It turns over like it is on steriods every time. What more could you ask for except to get it for free!!!! (Remember to install the jumper bar before installation or the battery will NOT work. Batteries must be shipped this way. Read instructions!)

26 out of 27 people found this helpful
yes no
 
No_photo
3/1/2013
Anthony
20_stars
Great Battery ?

If this battery is so super great and long lasting, why does it only have a 2 year warrantee ?

3 out of 17 people found this helpful
yes no
 
Magick_image.php?path=uploads%2fupload_0001655536
9/24/2012
Dennis
Avon, IN
50_stars
LFX36L3BS12 - GL1800 540 Cold Cranking Amps Ultimate Perf...

This battery is AWESOME! No matter which model you get you will not be disappointed. I got the largest. It has enough cold cranking amps to turn over most cars! It cranks my 2002 GL1800 like crazy. It comes with many pieces of very good adhesive foam pieices for fitment. The large one requires 1/4 inch foam on each side and then is a direct boltin. DO NOT FORGET to look at the instruction pictures and to connect the bar that enables the battery to function!!!!

8 out of 9 people found this helpful
yes no
 
Magick_image.php?path=uploads%2fupload_0000010581
10/30/2011
Dutch
Allen, TX
50_stars

Amazing......this battery weighs 11 pounds LESS than the factory battery! I weighed them. This battery almost feels like an empty shell. Works great !! If you have a dirt bike with electric start, this battery is a must to reduce weight.

8 out of 9 people found this helpful
yes no
 
Magick_image.php?path=uploads%2fupload_0000000337
9/1/2011
Smottka
Tucson, AZ
40_stars

Follow-up to my previous review. I have been in contact with Shorai USA and they appologized profusely for the delay in getting back with me. After a lengthly discussion with a Shorai rep and gooing over my issue (fact finding) they sent me out a new replacement battery and so far (only 1 week now) it is working like a champ and my battery bugs shows the batter at 90% cranking power, much better than the 34% the original battery registered. So, as much as I would like to rate this battery with 5 stars I can (which it probably deserves) I give it 4.5. I will say one more thing about the Shorai Battery. It is well designed and extremely light. I'm now looking forward to many years of maintenance free battery life.

I also need to give a shout out to Wing Stuff for calling me, un solicited, and asking if my issue had been handled by Shorai. Yes, Wing Stuff Staff does read our reviews. Not only that but Wing Stuff actually called Shorai on my behalf. What a great company and supporter of us Wingers. I give Wing Stuff 10 Stars for Customer Support.

6 out of 7 people found this helpful
yes no
 
Magick_image.php?path=uploads%2fupload_0000000337
8/23/2011
Smottka
Tucson, AZ
20_stars

I ordered and received the LFX24L3BS12 battery in July. I am not pleased with the performance of this battery at all. I have battery bug on my Wing to monitor my battery and it is reporting a cranking health of only 34% on this battery. I have contacted Shorai customer service and their technical support and I have not received a reply. For the cost of this battery I would expect better customer support. While the battery is still cranking over my Wing I am concerned about the reported carnking health. I have asked Shorai if this is a normal reading but like I said they have not responded to my repeated requests. I should have stayed with a traditional lead acid battery.

3 out of 4 people found this helpful
yes no
 
No_photo
7/18/2011
Barry
Innisfil, CA
50_stars

I'm considering this battery for my 1500. This is the one that is recommended,but, clearly the terminals are "backwards" for my bike. Is this just a pic of a general battery, or will the one for my bike have the correct terminals?

2 out of 4 people found this helpful
yes no
 
Magick_image.php?path=uploads%2fupload_0001639695
6/20/2011
larry
BIRMINGHAM, AL
50_stars

41/2 STARS FOR THIS ITEM- FOR INSTRUCTIONS ONLY NOTICE- THIS SHOULD HAVE BEEN PUT FIRST (THE BATTERY WILL NOT CRANK IF YOU DO NOT CONNECT THE METAL PLATE THAT CONNECTS THE 2 INTERNAL CELL TOGETHER INSIDE THE BATTERY) I FOUND THIS AFTER RECIEVING THE SECOND BATTERY FROM WINGSTUFF-I CALLED AGAIN SHORAI & WE FOUND OUT TOGETHER WHY THE 1ST BATT. DIDN'T FIRE UP- THE CELL WERE NOT CONNECTED BECAUSE OF A SAFETY RULE IN SHIPPING THIS BATTERY ???????????????-SO NOW THE BATTERY WAS INSTALLED WHEN I RECIEVED IT 6/17/11--- I HAVE CAPACITOR SO I CAN LITERALLY SEE THE ACTUAL VOLTAGE BEING USED-----14.4 VOLTS WHEN RUNNING- THEN WHEN THE TRIKE IS NOT RUNNIING THE VOLTAGE SETTLES DOWN TO 31.2 OR 13.1 VOLTS-------- OF COURSE THERE VOLTAGE BEING USED WHEN THE BIKE/TRIKE IS PARKED. YES IT FIRES RIGHT UP NOW (THAT THE CELLS HAVE BEEN CONNECTED.) SEEMS TO MAINTAIN VOLTAGE WHEN PARKED & RADIO IS PLAYING- 13.1/.2 VOLTS--I HAVE THE 27 A.HR BATTERY---- (LFX27L3-BS12) THIS BATTERY IS FOR ACCESSORIZED BIKES/TRIKES- AS SHORAI HAS SAID ON ITS WEBSITE--SO BE SURE TO READ SLOWLY EVERY DROP OF THE INSTRUCT.- STILL CKING HER POUT THO- SO CAN YOU SO TRY IT OUT-----------------

2 out of 5 people found this helpful
yes no
 
Magick_image.php?path=uploads%2fupload_0001639695
6/11/2011
larry
BIRMINGHAM, AL
10_stars

?? JURY"S STILL OUT ,ON THIS ONE FOR ME I RECIEVED THIS ITEM 6/10/11-READ ALL THE INFO THIS DAY- PUT IT IN TODAY 6/11/11-I ORDERED THE MEGA VERSION- LFX27L3BS12--- IT WOULD NOT FIRE UP (CRANK) MY O8 TRIKE ??????? SO I CONTACTED (THIS SATURDAY) BY E-MAIL SHORAI-- & CALLED WINGSTUFF (DANE) SO HE'S SENDING ME ANOTHER NEXT WEEK ??? SO WAITING NOW ?????

2 out of 4 people found this helpful
yes no
 
45_stars
$224.95 to $314.95
return to product page