Famous Utopia Driver Backrest for GL1800

No_photo
2/27/2017
Andy
Pasadena, TX
50_stars
Utopia Backrsst

Great investment and back saver.

yes no
 
Magick_image.php?path=uploads%2fupload_0000006227
2/25/2017
wackyracer
Baltimore, MD
50_stars
What a help on long rides

I'm not as young as I think and was totally against this idea at first. but after ten hours in the saddle this was one of the best buy I've made in years. The only down side would be putting a knife to my bikes seat ,hoping not to hit the heating cords ,just hate to cut a perfectly good seat. I have gotten a friend to add this to his bike.

yes no
 
Magick_image.php?path=uploads%2fupload_0001646269
2/20/2017
Eric
Feilding, NZ
50_stars
Sceptical no more

In over 30 years riding, I never could see what all the fuss was about regarding backrests and so for a very long time I have been quite sceptical. And then I bought one of these. Easy enough to fit, done in a half hour. At first, my scepticism was in full control and I didn't really think it made much difference. Then after about an hour it kicked in. I had not realised just how much vibration and how many jolts my back absorbed even on a short ride until I began to notice most of this shock was now being taken up by the backrest. Once I'd got used to the idea that it's not designed as a brace to be glued permanently to my back but more of a guiding hand, I adjusted it accordingly. The difference is amazing. I have always been impressed by the stability of the Goldwing but it just went to a new level. Acceleration is a new game as all the pull on the arms and shoulders is now gone. Before, I used to think that a backrest would be a bit of a hinderance in corners. Not so, in fact it actually helps by holding you still once you've got position and again, accelerating out is a whole new sensation. Would I recommend this backrest? You bet your arse I do!

yes no
 
No_photo
2/8/2017
David
Bentonville, AR
50_stars
All Day Comfort

Years of dirt bike racing took a toll on my back. A backrest is a must have for me. I discovered the Utopia Backrest in 2001 and put one on my Valkyrie. It made riding much more enjoyable. I have since put one on my 2008 Goldwing and my 2012 Goldwing. This purchase will be mounted on my 2017 Wing. I will not be without one. It provides great support and it leans forward to allow you to get on the bike with ease. And it also comes with a pouch on the back for small items. I believe it has Famous in it's name for a good reason. It has become famous by word of mouth and I will always share with people how great this backrest works.

1 out of 1 people found this helpful
yes no
 
No_photo
2/7/2017
Herbert
Davis, CA
50_stars
Pain Be Gone!

I have owned this backrest for about a year and I could not be happier. When I purchased the bike I was transitioning from a sport touring bike that had more of a rider forward design that stretched the back forward and alleviated some of the pressure. With the new Gold Wing, I was sitting straight up and the seat did nothing for the middle back to provide support. not long after I purchased the bike, I would notice stiffness and soreness on even short rides - Enter the Utopia Backrest. With the Utopia, I was able to make adjustments forward to help provide support for my back. The change was IMMEDIATELY noticeable. I would not ride without. As to installation, it was pretty straight forward minus cutting into the seat for the support bar. IT also flips forward and down to allow easier access to the rear and main seat.

1 out of 1 people found this helpful
yes no
 
No_photo
12/17/2016
Joseph
Sparta, GA
50_stars
Great product

Could not be happier with this backrest. EVERYTHING riders say it is. Wingstuff shipped in no time. Great company to purchase from.

2 out of 4 people found this helpful
yes no
 
Magick_image.php?path=uploads%2fupload_0000009384
10/16/2016
Craig
Duluth, GA
50_stars
Will be a true back saver!

Took a bit of fiddling with...but awesome feel. Love the adjustments! Can't complain one bit!

4 out of 6 people found this helpful
yes no
 
No_photo
9/29/2016
Chris
Williamsburg, PA
40_stars
Had to custom fit

These backrests are a great add on to a Goldwing. The quality seems very good, but the instructions are something you may find from a foreign made item except the words are correctly spelled. I followed the install directions exactly. Although I was concerned that my 2008 GL1800 Goldwing seat didn't look exactly like the one in the instructions or like in any video instructions I could find. Yes it does have a factory Honda seat, sticker is still on bottom. After cutting hole in seat I found that the inside seat bar had too much bend to fit my seat, I had to straighten the bar in a vise and then it fit great. So beware if this scares you. I haven't put many miles on it yet but will update review after a few weeks of use.

5 out of 7 people found this helpful
yes no
 
Magick_image.php?path=uploads%2fupload_0001650640
5/1/2016
Flying wings
Lamont, CA
50_stars
Still very good!

After 4 years and 13 000 km this item still look like new.
I recommend this item.

4 out of 5 people found this helpful
yes no
 
Magick_image.php?path=uploads%2fupload_0001657663
4/18/2016
Zig_Zag
Crystal City, MO
50_stars
Utopia is the Best!!!

If you like comfort on short or long rides you'll love this backrest! Installation is fairly easy, about 2 hours and seat is back on Wing.
Great Product and would buy again...

4 out of 6 people found this helpful
yes no