Luggage Rack + Deluxe Rack Bag COMBO for GL1800

Magick_image.php?path=uploads%2fupload_0001656114
5/25/2017
Captain J
IN
10_stars
5 stars for the rack - 1 star for the bag

I gave the bag 1 star because the zippers on the bag don't "lock". The two small pockets facing forward can unzip as you're traveling down the road causing whatever is in there to fall out...and you won't even know it until you stop and get off the bike. So far, the main zipper has not come open and hopefully it won't. I'd hate to loose my Gor-Tex rain gear.

yes no
 
No_photo
2/24/2017
Kevin
Vanceboro , NC
40_stars
Love/hate my rack

So, the title says it all. I Love/hate my rack. The rack itself is absolutely what it says it is. Still pretty new, but so far chrome looking good, sturdy, but my hate part really has nothing to do with the actual product. 70% of people I talked to said beware because of cracks will come into trunk lid. Sure enough I have some stress cracks. Can't say it's from the rack itself, but pretty sure wouldn't of happened if hadn't drilled the holes for the rack. After some reinforcements from under the lid with making big square fiberglass plastic weld patches to sturdy up the area where the rack bolts I have eliminated further cracking so far. Time will tell. Hope this will help you decide. I must say that I love being able to stick my lawn chirs up there when going to a concert or event.

3 out of 5 people found this helpful
yes no
 
No_photo
2/7/2017
Chris
Gary, TX
50_stars
Nice set

Rack was easy to install and works well when needed. Bag held up nicely through a trip to Arkansas . Ran into rain on the trip and rain guard worked well, everything stayed dry. Hope to get many more uses from them.

yes no
 
No_photo
7/30/2016
Peter
Peachland, CA
50_stars
excellent set

I have logged about 50,000 miles over 6 summers and this set works perfect. great price, easy to install, no rusting of the rack over 6 years although the bike is mostly garaged when not travelling.

2 out of 3 people found this helpful
yes no
 
Magick_image.php?path=uploads%2fupload_0001649594
8/3/2015
TKW
Manassas, VA
50_stars
I've had no problems at all

I did a fair amount of reading before selecting this rack. The comments on every rack I considered included many complaints about rust appearing quicker than buyers expected, so I just took that as a given. I bought mine June of 2012 and 3 years later I have no rust at all. (knock on wood)

The bag and rain cover seem to be great quality but I have not yet been caught in the rain while using them so I can't speak to the ability to keep stuff dry.

I, too, have found attaching the bag to the rack with the straps to be somewhat difficult. If there is a "right" way to do it, it isn't obvious to me and every time I just end up messing around with it until I get it secure.

One other issue is the bag is so roomy, it's easy to overload it and exceed the weight capacity of the rack and trunk lid. So be careful when loading up the bag.

7 out of 8 people found this helpful
yes no
 
No_photo
2/12/2015
40_stars
Nice combo/good value

I purchased this set before we left on a 5000+ mile trip last summer and have been very satisfied with the combo. We had plenty of rain along the way and everything stayed dry. The bag is big and easy to overload. The exterior pockets are very useful for the grab and go stuff. Watch the weight up there! I was trying to be mindful of that but despite mounting the rack with the star washers, I got a small crack in the trunk lid at one of the legs. I don't know if it was an installation issue, weight issue or the 40 mph Kansas cross wind that caused the problem! So far I have not experienced any rusting that others have noted. The Velcro straps on the bottom of the bag are a bit challenging to put on and take off but they are sturdy and really secure. This combo will really expand your cargo capacity.

7 out of 8 people found this helpful
yes no
 
Magick_image.php?path=uploads%2fupload_0001651244
6/9/2014
Greely / Ottawa, CA
30_stars
Rack corners going through the rain cover

Previous rating should have been

3 for the rack;
5 for the bag; and
2 for the rain cover

7 out of 9 people found this helpful
yes no
 
Magick_image.php?path=uploads%2fupload_0001651244
6/9/2014
Greely / Ottawa, CA
50_stars
Rack corners going through the rain cover

I bought the combo kit in June 2012, installed the rack as soon as I received it, works fine although the posts and the joints are pitting. I only used the bag and the rain cover last week when going to Americade in Lake George, NY, I have no issues with the bag, it contains lots of stuff. The issue I have is with the rain cover and the rack, the rack I received has the front exterior corners square ((almost pointy) not like the one showing in this picture) so when installing the rain cover over the bag and rack, the corners of the rack went throught the rain cover during the trip.

I also find it difficult to attach the bag on the rack with the velcro bands, anyone has an easy way of securing the bag to the rack.

You can see a picture of the rack in my gallery

13 out of 14 people found this helpful
yes no
 
Magick_image.php?path=uploads%2fupload_0001655257
3/15/2014
becesteve
20_stars
Bag is good rack is not

Wish I would have gotten a different set up. The bag works very well (I do not use it often but it has been serviceable)
But the rack rusts at the welds and quickly spreads. I have tried everything metal polish and good wax at install. And several times in the last year. Order shipped 6/13.. and March 2014 it is the only rust problem I have on an 08 wing. Kury back rest is 4 years old NP.. passenger armrests last year also...NP..stock mufflers..NP

4 out of 5 people found this helpful
yes no
 
No_photo
3/5/2014
Scott
Altamonte Springs, FL
20_stars
Om my third one

The bag that comes with this set is great. It stores a lot of stuff, and the front mesh pockets makes things easy to get to by the passenger as your going down the road. The rain cover that comes with this bag works great. I was caught in a rainstorm all the way from TN, to just south of Atlanta, and everything stayed perfectly dry. The rack is not the best quality. I am fixing to replace it under warranty for the third time. Thanks Wingstuff for your great customer service. As others have said, the rack begins to rust after about 10 months. I would definitely chose a different one if I was installing for the first time.

3 out of 6 people found this helpful
yes no