Kuryakyn Heel Toe Shifter Kit for GL1800

No_photo
5/14/2018
Nancy
20_stars
Love It / Hate It

used on a 2010 Goldwing since 2012 worked great but the finish on it is total cheap crap mock chrome stated bubbling and peeling year one. Just bought a 2017 wing and will get it powder coated and reinstall on new bike. Would definitely not spend that kind of money due to the finish peeling off. It will cost about 25 bucks for powder coating vs 180+ for new it's a no brainer. However loved how it worked :-)

yes no
 
No_photo
5/8/2018
Plasticboater
10_stars
Puncture danger...

If I could give this "product" a negative rating I would... I purchased an '08 with this piece of junk installed (peg model not floorboard.) On the return trip from buying the bike, I exited a slightly sloping driveway with a curve to the left. As I picked up my left foot and began the "decent" my left heel moved through what should have been open space and was gored by the heel tang on the shifter. It punctured the leather covering the heel protector and drove my boot toe first into the pavement, hyper-extending my toes over backward (only broke the big toe, lol.) Not only are these dangerous, take a real good look at the "connection" to the stock shifter tang, yeah, it's a C channel that hooks the stock shifter and doesn't shift worth a damn. These things aren't cruisers and heel/toe shifting sucks in the GW's riding position.

1 out of 1 people found this helpful
yes no
 
Magick_image.php?path=uploads%2fupload_0001656844
2/7/2017
bikerjerry
Lebanon, OR
50_stars
Love it

Ever since I put the Heel Toe shifter on my first bike I have fallen in love with them... This was the first accessory I installed on my new GL 1800.
The fit and finish is superior to any of the ones I put on my previous bikes and this one has never come loose in over 2 years of hard riding.
the install was easy and if I had to make a complaint it would be the chrome piece that attaches to the frame does not match the brushed steel of the stock one... but who's gonna notice.

3 out of 3 people found this helpful
yes no
 
Magick_image.php?path=uploads%2fupload_0000002068
6/25/2014
Will
Seattle, WA
10_stars
This Review is Pending

I purchased mine (brand new)from another vendor for a few bucks cheaper. However, the black plastic piece causes the unit to bind. The binding prevents the shifter spring mechanism from traveling far enough to reset. Because of that, it won't allow the bike to shift into 3rd, 4th, or 5th gear. I called Kuryakin and they told me to sand the plastic piece down. ...no improvements.

I'm open to suggestions if anyone experienced the same problems.

4 out of 5 people found this helpful
yes no
 
Magick_image.php?path=uploads%2fupload_0001654080
8/18/2012
Dennis
Fort Valley, VA
50_stars
shifter

This is a GREAT product for the goldwing. install on my 08 with no problem, Looks great with Kury highway pegs driver and passenger floor boards. i have had no rust as mentioned in other comments and no problem with shifting at all. Love it!!!

8 out of 9 people found this helpful
yes no
 
No_photo
5/1/2012
Wayne
Gilbert, AZ
40_stars
Heel Toe Shifter w/o boards

This product went on easier that I thought. Works great once used to it. I need a Side stand extender as it is a bit tight with the shifter there and my big foot. As far as the comment that this will not fit on a 2010....... I have a 2010 and it fit just fine. I recommend the product.

3 out of 3 people found this helpful
yes no
 
Magick_image.php?path=uploads%2fupload_0001648391
4/9/2012
Mel
Indianapolis, IN
40_stars
A couple minor problems

Installation was OK and it works fine. On a trip it had to set out in an overnight rain, IT GOT RUSTY in the grooves in the heel and toe pedals BECAUSE THOSE PIECES ARE NOT CHROMED (?). Kury replaced them N/C but should not have the problem to start with. I had to make an extension for the side stand because the heel pedal obscures the side stand and makes it almost impossible to lower the stand. Kury should include a part to install on the side stand

5 out of 5 people found this helpful
yes no
 
Magick_image.php?path=uploads%2fupload_0001650793
11/23/2011
Smittybilt
Millersville, MD
50_stars

I bought this because I traded my Electraglide in for the Wing and loved the heel toe shifter. I also don't like scuffing my boot toe. I chose not to go for floorboards because my riding position on the Wing places my feet a litte more to the rear than the Electraglide and I find it more comfortable to point my toes down slightly on the foot pegs. This kit solved my dilemma.

The installation was simple and involved taking the old footpeg plate of and replacing it with the Kuryakyn plate with the shifter mounted onto it. It was a tight fit to get to one of the hex head screws so I did put several pieces of black electrical tape on the shifter to keep from marring it.

My only complaint with this setup is that it's rather cramped shifting the toe as the shifter actually sits on top of the old shifter and as you can see it's right up against the rear of the valve cover. Now that I have been using it this doesn't seem to be a problem anymore. All in all, I love this product and am very happy with the quality of the shifter as I have been with most of Kuryakyn's products.

3 out of 3 people found this helpful
yes no
 
Magick_image.php?path=uploads%2fupload_0001647516
4/22/2011
Scott
Cincinnati, OH
50_stars

These are awesome!!!

1 out of 1 people found this helpful
yes no
 
Magick_image.php?path=uploads%2fupload_0001647708
3/29/2011
WILDWINGMAN
10_stars

Do not buy this if you have a 2010 GL1800! It does not fit! The backplane of the shifter is lacking two reliefs that are required for the assembly to flush mount securely on your machine. Clearly a manufacturing oversight.

0 out of 1 people found this helpful
yes no