Kuryakyn Chrome Floorboards w/Heel Shifter

Magick_image.php?path=uploads%2fupload_0000000029
8/22/2014
biker manny
Miami, FL
30_stars
Chrome finish is pitting after 6 months of use

I purchased these when I bought my new 'wing in Jan 2014. Chrome after 6 months started to exhibiting pitting. These are my second set of these floorboards w/heel shifter which have had the same issue. I'm still under warranty but just the fact that I have to go through the incovenience of taking them off and taking them back to the dealer for replacement/repair is not fun. Kuryakin should consider having a better source to apply their chroming process to their parts.

I will be taking the new ones when replaced or repaired to have the chrome removed and have them black powder coated. Kuryaking should have them made in black powder coated as an option.

4 out of 4 people found this helpful
yes no
 
Magick_image.php?path=uploads%2fupload_0000014568
8/12/2014
Redneck
Montreal, Qc, CA
20_stars
Chroming Issues

I absolutely love having the floorboards and toes/heel shifter but like everything else from Kury, the chrome peels after just 2 or 3 years. You would think that with what they are charging for the add-ons, that they would opt for a premium chroming process. I will have to strip down my bike and send to a chroming shop to have most everything re-done.

7 out of 7 people found this helpful
yes no
 
Magick_image.php?path=uploads%2fupload_0001657601
7/8/2014
Jon
Auburn, WA
40_stars
Still happy after 1 year

I purchased these when I bought my new 'wing July of '13. Chrome still in great shape, no complaints. On a side note, see my gallery pic for the extension I had to put on to make room for my size 15 boots. Added 3" to the heel to accommodate my 13" boots. Worked like a charm!

9 out of 9 people found this helpful
yes no
 
Magick_image.php?path=uploads%2fupload_0001657550
5/16/2014
Daren
Lake Park, GA
20_stars
Flaking "chrome"

Pad looks great after a few years but now all of the shifter 'chrome' is flaking off, soon to be bare metal DI-cast. Everything else I've had Kuryakyn has been far and above the call of duty til this. Anyone know their warranty? The heal-toe works but only at a 'looks bad when stopped' loss. The 2 stars is only for the function and the foot pad but the shift chrome must be improved for the price. C'mon Kury what happened?

6 out of 7 people found this helpful
yes no
 
No_photo
5/14/2014
Paul
Esperance, NY
30_stars
Not For a Tall Driver

My wife purchased these floorboards for me for Christmas 2013. Before buying, I looked at a fellow riders floorboards and sat on his center stand Wing. I thought they'd be the answer to comfortable riding long distances. I was dead wrong. I take nothing away from Kuryakyn's workmanship. They look sharp, no doubt. The trouble was, these floorboards raise your feet an inch, and for a tall person like me, 6'3", it was enough to throw off your posture. It raised my knees higher and caused me to slouch at the handlebars. Consequently, they came off and stock pegs are back on.

10 out of 10 people found this helpful
yes no
 
No_photo
4/13/2014
Allen
50_stars
peeling chrome

Do not waste your money unless you wish to replace these every two years.The chrome bubbles then peels off inbetween the rubber insets.
Called Kuryakyn and they told me they would not do anything for warrenty because they where purchased and installed by the selling dealer and I was not the original owner.

8 out of 8 people found this helpful
yes no
 
Magick_image.php?path=uploads%2fupload_0001650712
3/29/2014
G Man
Blythewood, SC
50_stars
Great, must get used to!!

When I had my bike trike with the Razor kit, I had the Floorboards w/heel shifter installed. It takes a little getting used to and I really love and enjoy the floorboards and shifter.

5 out of 5 people found this helpful
yes no
 
Magick_image.php?path=uploads%2fupload_0000002211
3/23/2014
Darwin
Van Wert, IA
30_stars
IOWABOY

PUT THESE ON MY O7 WHEN NEW. BE AWARE THAT IF YOU HAVE ANY HEEL TOE SHIFTER YOU MUST NOT REST OR HOLD YOUR HEEL ON THE SHIFTER. IT COST ABOUT $2800 IF YOU DO.
THATS COST THE YOU WILL PAY TO FIX THE TRANEY. ALSO THESE BOARDS ARE TO HIGH TO USE YOUR TOE SHIFT, THE CHROME WILL CRACK AND PEAL IN TIME. HOPE THIS MAY SAVE YOU THE MONEY THAT I HAD TO PAY.

7 out of 7 people found this helpful
yes no
 
No_photo
2/22/2014
Tim
Eagar , AZ
50_stars
chrome floorboards with heel toe shifter

These are great, easy install, and much more comfortable than pegs. I called Kuryakyn 'cause I couldn't find the shift lever bushing in the packaging. As I was talking to him on the phone I was digging around in the box and found this part packaged with the brake pedal. most of these parts are made in China and I think the instructions are written there too. Once I located all the parts, install was easy and I love the extra foot room. the larger brake pedal is pretty nice too and looks great. The deployment hooks are to hook your boot on to push the footboards back down, since the kickstand extender turned out to be a useless piece of junk.

5 out of 5 people found this helpful
yes no
 
Magick_image.php?path=uploads%2fupload_0001656544
12/28/2013
Hacksaw
Canton, NC
40_stars
Stupid Instructions

When installing them, note that the toe shift "knob" is packaged separately, and the heel shift knob is pre-installed. Ensure that the heel knob is facing the correct direction, and that you install the toe knob before you bolt this on the bike. (They are not mentioned in the instructions). Had to install it twice because of this oversight. I agree that there is not much freedom of movement with the left side. Can anybody tell me what the "deployment hooks" do?

4 out of 4 people found this helpful
yes no