Kuryakyn Chrome Floorboards w/Heel Shifter

Magick_image.php?path=uploads%2fupload_0001655606
11/15/2013
Jerry
Princeton, KY
50_stars
Floorboadrs

At first I was not sure if I would like the heal toe shifter. It did take some getting use to. I love it now and glad I did it with the floorboards makes it much easier to shift gears! Lazy man shifting! :o)

13 out of 13 people found this helpful
yes no
 
Magick_image.php?path=uploads%2fupload_0001656300
10/29/2013
Pam
San Tan Valley, AZ
50_stars
Great product, easy to install

I received my floorboards today and immediately set to work installing them. I took my time, and it took me about an hour an a half. Installation was pretty painless, and I was able to get them both installed without as much as chipping the paint off of my fingernails. My only complaint is the instructions are a bit confusing on the brake side, with a lot of extra stuff that really didn't matter. I was able to get the new brake pedal slid onto the shaft with the aid of some liquid dish detergent.

I would also like to comment that the installation video is highly lacking. He quickly shows the installation of the shift side, but fails to demonstrate installation of the brake side, which IMO is much more difficult.

After installation, I ended up with an extra deployment hook and bolts, plus an extra heel pedal for the shifter. I'm not sure if this is a mistake in packaging or what.

I took her for a test ride right after installation, and found the heel/toe shifting to be very natural, the position of the boards very comfortable. I'm 5'8" with size 11 (woman's) feet, and found the positioning to be quite comfortable. I do have the Kuryakyn highway pegs, so I'm able to stretch my legs when on the open road.

I've read all the reviews, and can understand why the big guys with the big feet (and big socks, LOL) might find this configuration uncomfortable.

Pam

11 out of 11 people found this helpful
yes no
 
Magick_image.php?path=uploads%2fupload_0000007055
10/27/2013
Dubai, AE
30_stars
Floorboard chrome peels off

After 2 or 3 years, the chrome started peeling off. I now need to decide if I'm going to replace them with the same ones or just re-install the original footpegs. I have 2 goldwings, one with and one without the floorboards. On aggressive rides, with a lot of cornering, I prefer without the floorboards. The floorboards limits your cornering abilities. Regardless, I do prefer riding with the floorboards as it is more comfortable when cruising. Too bad the quality of the chroming isn't very good. Not sure on Kyryaken's policy regarding replacing defective product after warranty period?

5 out of 5 people found this helpful
yes no
 
Magick_image.php?path=uploads%2fupload_0001655605
10/12/2013
Hereford, AZ
50_stars
great boards

the boards are great the shifter took some time to get used to but after that they are great and the big brake peddle is nice also 4 bolts and they stay where you put them

14 out of 14 people found this helpful
yes no
 
No_photo
8/19/2013
Gunny
Prescott , AZ
40_stars
Floorboard is great, installation instructions so-so

The floorboards were delivered in great condition and looked good. I was able to install them with few problems. Step 1 showed the deployment tab with the curved part facing inwards while the video showed it facing outward. Also, it said to install it on the shift side but there was no mention about the brake side. It came with 2 tabs and there were holes in both floorboards so I installed on both, facing the way it said on the written instructions. We shall see what happens.

7 out of 7 people found this helpful
yes no
 
Magick_image.php?path=uploads%2fupload_0001654652
6/16/2013
Bilber
Rochester, MN
50_stars
Bigfoot Must Have

I'm 6'4' with wide 14 feet. First 1800mi trip on the wing it was obvious that the pegs had to go. Put these on with the shifter, did 2700mi in 4 days last year, + another 4K here and there and they are super. Yes, they scrape from time to time, mostly on slow sharp maneuvers, but not enough to be a problem.

11 out of 12 people found this helpful
yes no
 
Magick_image.php?path=uploads%2fupload_0001656913
5/20/2013
Marc
Auckland, NZ
50_stars
F6B Floorboards

Goes very well on the F6B, and looks great too !
Very happy with it.

15 out of 17 people found this helpful
yes no
 
Magick_image.php?path=uploads%2fupload_0001653308
4/20/2013
Av8ur
Bend, OR
50_stars
Favorite add on

These are great. Look fantastic and work very well. Simple but stylish. Very heavy duty materials. Nothing but high fives.

4 out of 6 people found this helpful
yes no
 
No_photo
3/6/2013
Steven
Summerville, SC
50_stars
Another great product for my 2012

Very simple install. Added comfort and great look< worth every penny.

11 out of 13 people found this helpful
yes no
 
No_photo
12/4/2012
Tom
Woodbine, MD
50_stars
Great Addition

I installed these about 1 year ago. They installed in about 30 minutes and I used the blue Loctite to keep things tight. It took a couple of tries to get the brake pedal set to the desired height but that wasn't difficult. I can’t believe the difference they made in the ride and comfort level and wish I would have installed them when I first purchased my GW in 2008. After a year they still look and feel great. If there was only 1 item I was going to buy to improve the comfort of my ride, these are it.

11 out of 12 people found this helpful
yes no