Kuryakyn Chrome Floorboards w/Heel Shifter

Magick_image.php?path=uploads%2fupload_0001657601
7/8/2014
Jon
Auburn, WA
40_stars
Still happy after 1 year

I purchased these when I bought my new 'wing July of '13. Chrome still in great shape, no complaints. On a side note, see my gallery pic for the extension I had to put on to make room for my size 15 boots. Added 3" to the heel to accommodate my 13" boots. Worked like a charm!

9 out of 9 people found this helpful
yes no
 
Magick_image.php?path=uploads%2fupload_0001657550
5/16/2014
Daren
Lake Park, GA
20_stars
Flaking "chrome"

Pad looks great after a few years but now all of the shifter 'chrome' is flaking off, soon to be bare metal DI-cast. Everything else I've had Kuryakyn has been far and above the call of duty til this. Anyone know their warranty? The heal-toe works but only at a 'looks bad when stopped' loss. The 2 stars is only for the function and the foot pad but the shift chrome must be improved for the price. C'mon Kury what happened?

6 out of 7 people found this helpful
yes no
 
No_photo
5/14/2014
Paul
Esperance, NY
30_stars
Not For a Tall Driver

My wife purchased these floorboards for me for Christmas 2013. Before buying, I looked at a fellow riders floorboards and sat on his center stand Wing. I thought they'd be the answer to comfortable riding long distances. I was dead wrong. I take nothing away from Kuryakyn's workmanship. They look sharp, no doubt. The trouble was, these floorboards raise your feet an inch, and for a tall person like me, 6'3", it was enough to throw off your posture. It raised my knees higher and caused me to slouch at the handlebars. Consequently, they came off and stock pegs are back on.

10 out of 10 people found this helpful
yes no
 
No_photo
4/13/2014
Allen
50_stars
peeling chrome

Do not waste your money unless you wish to replace these every two years.The chrome bubbles then peels off inbetween the rubber insets.
Called Kuryakyn and they told me they would not do anything for warrenty because they where purchased and installed by the selling dealer and I was not the original owner.

8 out of 8 people found this helpful
yes no
 
Magick_image.php?path=uploads%2fupload_0001650712
3/29/2014
G Man
Blythewood, SC
50_stars
Great, must get used to!!

When I had my bike trike with the Razor kit, I had the Floorboards w/heel shifter installed. It takes a little getting used to and I really love and enjoy the floorboards and shifter.

5 out of 5 people found this helpful
yes no
 
Magick_image.php?path=uploads%2fupload_0000002211
3/23/2014
Darwin
Van Wert, IA
30_stars
IOWABOY

PUT THESE ON MY O7 WHEN NEW. BE AWARE THAT IF YOU HAVE ANY HEEL TOE SHIFTER YOU MUST NOT REST OR HOLD YOUR HEEL ON THE SHIFTER. IT COST ABOUT $2800 IF YOU DO.
THATS COST THE YOU WILL PAY TO FIX THE TRANEY. ALSO THESE BOARDS ARE TO HIGH TO USE YOUR TOE SHIFT, THE CHROME WILL CRACK AND PEAL IN TIME. HOPE THIS MAY SAVE YOU THE MONEY THAT I HAD TO PAY.

7 out of 7 people found this helpful
yes no
 
No_photo
2/22/2014
Tim
Eagar , AZ
50_stars
chrome floorboards with heel toe shifter

These are great, easy install, and much more comfortable than pegs. I called Kuryakyn 'cause I couldn't find the shift lever bushing in the packaging. As I was talking to him on the phone I was digging around in the box and found this part packaged with the brake pedal. most of these parts are made in China and I think the instructions are written there too. Once I located all the parts, install was easy and I love the extra foot room. the larger brake pedal is pretty nice too and looks great. The deployment hooks are to hook your boot on to push the footboards back down, since the kickstand extender turned out to be a useless piece of junk.

5 out of 5 people found this helpful
yes no
 
Magick_image.php?path=uploads%2fupload_0001656544
12/28/2013
Hacksaw
Canton, NC
40_stars
Stupid Instructions

When installing them, note that the toe shift "knob" is packaged separately, and the heel shift knob is pre-installed. Ensure that the heel knob is facing the correct direction, and that you install the toe knob before you bolt this on the bike. (They are not mentioned in the instructions). Had to install it twice because of this oversight. I agree that there is not much freedom of movement with the left side. Can anybody tell me what the "deployment hooks" do?

4 out of 4 people found this helpful
yes no
 
No_photo
12/15/2013
30_stars
Good and Bad

I have had these installed for about 4 months now. The quality is very good with solid castings, flawless chrome plating and durable rubber inserts. Shift pegs are made from solid stainless steel to eliminate the possibility of corrosion for these high contact wear surfaces. The floorboards are hinged to allow movement on tight turns. Kuryakyn put a wear pad under each floor board to eliminate contact between the chrome plated floor board and the road. If the Chrome plating is breached the underlying material will corrode. Time will tell if the chrome plating will hold up. The hinge also allows quick and easy access to the kick stand under the left floorboard.

On the negative side it took some time to become comfortable with the heal / toe shift arrangement. This is not a knock against the product, rather a note to those who are accustomed to toe upshifting. Once these are installed you cannot use the front peg to upshift. The floor boards are too close to the shift peg to hook your foot underneath. I purchased these boards to allow for multiple foot positions on long rides. In that respect the right-side floor board works well. The board size is reasonably large and allows for numerous foot positions. However, the design of the left side floorboard with the heal / toe shifter failed to meet expectations. The front and rear shift pegs are too long and extend almost the full width of the board. My feet are a fairly standard size 11 and my footware barely fits between the heal and toe shifter. The design more or less traps your left foot in one position defeating the purpose of the board.

After riding with the stock Kuryakyn design for a couple months I made a small modification. Using a Dremel tool and bench top belt sander I removed a little less than half the length from of the front shift peg. The remaining material is about as long as the stock Honda peg and the removed material enables more flexibility in foot placement. Cutting the peg with a Dremel tool with an abrasive wheel is straight forward but a belt sander is required reshape an aesthetically appealing end to the peg. In short, the quality of this accessory is good and installation is very easy. But the restrictive foot movement on the shift side is disappointing. The modification is straight forward and improves usability, but ... on the whole I can only rate this product as a "3".

9 out of 9 people found this helpful
yes no
 
Magick_image.php?path=uploads%2fupload_0001655606
11/15/2013
Jerry
Princeton, KY
50_stars
Floorboadrs

At first I was not sure if I would like the heal toe shifter. It did take some getting use to. I love it now and glad I did it with the floorboards makes it much easier to shift gears! Lazy man shifting! :o)

14 out of 14 people found this helpful
yes no