Performance Stainless Belly Pan for GL1800 w/Oversize Fasteners

Magick_image.php?path=uploads%2fupload_0001652759
8/3/2012
TIGER MAN
ALVIN, TX
50_stars
Belly Pan

..A must needed product for EVERY GOLDWING .I live on a country dirt and gravel road.Mine was installed before I took the bike home from dealer ..It will protect all important parts of the bike ..

7 out of 8 people found this helpful
yes no
 
No_photo
7/29/2012
CamelBill
50_stars
Easy install, should protect under-half as designed

Easy install, other than both acorn nuts on the kickstand side were corroded, so be careful when removing. Note that mike bike is only one year old. One twisted off the stud, the other barely came off. Coated remaining three acorn nuts with anti-seize prior to re-installing.

As another reviewer noted, used some split rubber hose on the very front of the pan on the removable front half to reduce rattle. Also made for a snugger fit. Will report back if any noticeable difference while riding, such as heat or wind gust.

8 out of 9 people found this helpful
yes no
 
Magick_image.php?path=uploads%2fupload_0001648402
7/27/2012
Coyote79
Wylie, TX
50_stars
Peace of mind- unobtrusive

Very easy install. The sharp edges issue that many report was not a problem, for the set I received. However, I did wear mech gloves to be safe. I've ridden ~100 mi since install & have not noticed any appreciable handling issues, or improvements (no severe Xwinds yet).

7 out of 9 people found this helpful
yes no
 
Magick_image.php?path=uploads%2fupload_0001653078
7/24/2012
michael
ware, MA
50_stars
great piece of mind

covers everything of importance and it not even noticable

5 out of 6 people found this helpful
yes no
 
Magick_image.php?path=uploads%2fupload_0001652820
7/15/2012
Bob
Mesa, AZ
40_stars
Peace of Mind

The installation is pretty straight forward and only took me 15 minutes to install. The belly pan is is quality made and fits well once installed. The reason I only gave 4 stars is because I feel this item is really only a peace of mind and/or "feel good" measure to protect the coolant reservoir plastic tank which Honda placed in a terrible location. I think all you really need to do is install a front fender extension to achieve pretty much the same protection. Now I have both, so I should be double protected.

6 out of 7 people found this helpful
yes no
 
Magick_image.php?path=uploads%2fupload_0001653123
7/13/2012
Bill
Phoenix, AZ
40_stars
Easy to install

I thought is should have been a heavier guage metal. Better than nothing.

5 out of 6 people found this helpful
yes no
 
Magick_image.php?path=uploads%2fupload_0001653104
7/13/2012
Larry
Jacksonville, FL
50_stars
Sorry I forgot to mention.

I forgot to mention that since the edges are so sharp I went to a automotive parts store and bought the largest grommet they had for the over flow tube that hang down through the hole. I think in no time at all the edges would have cut or worn quite a bit on the tubes.

5 out of 6 people found this helpful
yes no
 
Magick_image.php?path=uploads%2fupload_0001653104
7/13/2012
Larry
Jacksonville, FL
50_stars
WEAR GLOVES

Nice piece. Was a bit of a bear at times but in general not to bad. BUT WEAR GLOVES! It is very thin stainless and it being a stamped piece, the edges are very sharp. My only grip would be that they should at least do something to the edges so they are not so sharp. It seems to work well and the fact that it is vented can only be a plus. Especially here in Florida.

7 out of 8 people found this helpful
yes no
 
No_photo
7/4/2012
Brian
50_stars
works well

Easy to install, gives me piece of mind on gravel roads. Not sure if it improved cross wind buffeting or maybe I just didn't notice.

4 out of 5 people found this helpful
yes no
 
Magick_image.php?path=uploads%2fupload_0001643046
6/28/2012
W.W.
West Point, VA
50_stars
Better Late than Never

Should have installed this 4 years ago before rocks damaged my coolant reservoir on the way back from the Goldwing Rally last year. I live in Virginia. Nice pan. I wish it came standard on all wings.

6 out of 7 people found this helpful
yes no