Performance Stainless Belly Pan

No_photo
6/29/2015
Bill
50_stars
Need for Belly Pan

As an amendment to my 6/22/15 review on this product, my reason for purchasing a belly pan was a rock was propelled off the front tire and punctured a hole in the plastic coolant tank, causing loss off all fluid in the plastic tank.

6 out of 8 people found this helpful
yes no
 
No_photo
6/29/2015
Bill
50_stars
Need for Belly Pan

As an amendment to my 6/22/15 review on this product, my reason for purchasing a belly pan was a rock was propelled off the front tire and punctured a hole in the plastic coolant tank, causing loss off all fluid in the plastic tank.

3 out of 5 people found this helpful
yes no
 
No_photo
6/22/2015
Bill
50_stars
1800 Stainless Steel Belly Pan

This manufacturer has made the unit with 2-horizontal slots on each of the belly pan sides, to place over the 2-lower rear cowl bolts. This requires complete removal of the 2-cowl nuts in order to get the sides of the belly pan horizontal slot over the cowl bolts. This can only be accomplished after removal of the 2-cowl nuts and pulling out the lower rear cowl off the bolts. Other manufacturers have a vertical slot that enables pushing the sides of the belly pan over the 2-lower cowl bolts and thus the nuts are not completely removed. In my installation effort, after removing the two nuts and pulling the lower cowl off the bolts, I was able to get the front lower cowl bolt hole back on the bolt, but not the rear one. It would not line up no matter how much tugging and pulling I tried. To facilitate a simpler installation I ultimately used a metal grinder to make a vertical slot into the original horizontal slot, as done by other manufacturers, so I could slide the pan sides directly over the 2-bolts. After numerous attempts to get the rear cowl bolt hole back over the rear bolt I finally had to jury rig a ratchet come-along between the front hole and the rear saddle guard, to pull the lower cowl rear ward to match the bolt with the lower cowl mounting hole. To simplify the installation grind a vertical slot into the manufacturers horizontal slot and only loosen the lower cowl nuts. Absolutely do not remove the nuts.

4 out of 6 people found this helpful
yes no
 
Magick_image.php?path=uploads%2fupload_0001658382
5/28/2015
Fal-lad
Riyadh, SA
50_stars
You have to own it

This is the most important part in your wing

3 out of 5 people found this helpful
yes no
 
No_photo
3/27/2015
BigBee
50_stars
Great Product III

Got trigger happy.

One last IMPORTANT to add to my original review; take a good file and 30 minutes to remove the sharp edges. Since doing that, I can take my belly pan on and off bare handed.

2 out of 4 people found this helpful
yes no
 
No_photo
3/27/2015
BigBee
50_stars
Great Product II

2 out of 4 people found this helpful
yes no
 
No_photo
3/21/2015
BigBee
50_stars
Great Product

I've had mine for several years. It does help with the crosswinds. The best features of this belly pan are:
1. It keeps the bottom clean!!!!!!!!!!!
2. The front detachment plate makes oil changes easy. I did put a couple of plastic bumpers on the front lip to protect the cowling.
3. It has protected the bottom of my Wing. I've had to straighten out some of the louvers. There are more scratches and dings on it than you can stick a shake at.
4. After taking it on and off a few times, the initial installation quirks are old hand.

Watch out for the sharp edges. Finally, I haven't noticed any access heat on my feet.

5 out of 7 people found this helpful
yes no
 
Magick_image.php?path=uploads%2fupload_0001658536
3/13/2015
Andrew
Coral Springs, FL
50_stars
Excellent Product - Wear Gloves!!!

This is an excellent well manufactured product that installs fairly easily. There was a little bending and shaping to get it over the bolts that hold down the faring, and you need to watch out for those faring retention bolts as they will move (they are supported by a fairly flimsy meta tab) if you bang on them trying to get this into position. The two big things when installing this are 1.) It comes covered in white plastic, remove the plastic before starting (as stated in directions) and most of all 2.) WEAR GLOVES!! I cut my hands several time without even knowing it, the edges of this thing are razor sharp. All in all great product; fun easy project. Took about 30 min to install. Provides excellent protection for the undercarriage while venting heat. 5 stars.

2 out of 4 people found this helpful
yes no
 
No_photo
3/2/2015
HAH64
40_stars
finaly installed

after looking on YouTube and several videos i was able to install it but it was not as easy as it is described, but it is don and it looks good for my tripe to Dubai on Wednesday will be riding from Daharan KSA to Dubai UAE.

Hani

2 out of 4 people found this helpful
yes no
 
No_photo
3/2/2015
HAH64
10_stars
not for the F6B

I have searched for this item for the F6B and it showed it and purchased it, to my surprise it did not fit. i have 11 Harley Davidson's and this is my first Honda. I am happy with the F6B but not happy with the accessory available.this part is good for the right bike but not for the F6B. hens the one star is for the site not for the part.

Hani

4 out of 6 people found this helpful
yes no