Performance Stainless Belly Pan for GL1800 w/Oversize Fasteners

No_photo
12/16/2013
sbtrade
pearblossom
50_stars
good product poor product support

I have had this product for several years and love the protection this has provided the undercarriage.
However the nose piece has been worn down and there are no spare parts available. You have to buy a complete new product. In addition the Zeus fasteners had previously failed and no replacements were available. I had to order spare fasteners from McMaster Carr.

13 out of 14 people found this helpful
yes no
 
No_photo
11/3/2013
Richard
Jacksonville, FL
50_stars
MUST HAVE option

My wife and I each have a 2013 Gold Wing purchased in January, 2013. BOTH of us have experienced punctured coolant overflow tanks in the first year of ownership. I knew this could be an issue, but was originally talked out of getting the belly pan by a friend who never had a problem. The punctured tanks were discovered during a routine maintenance check in September. The service manager said it was a comical sight when the technician came in all wide eyed and said "You are not going to believe this, but both have punctured tanks." At $100 each to replace, I was kicking myself for not trusting my instincts...so if you don't believe it can happen to you, think again. Money well spent I say. Oh, and both bikes had front fender extensions fitted at time of purchase.

44 out of 46 people found this helpful
yes no
 
Magick_image.php?path=uploads%2fupload_0001655061
8/26/2013
george
beaverton, OR
50_stars
nice as you will find

this fit great on my 2012 and saved a lot of cleaning after a 2000 mile trip to glacier nat park.
bigtime crosswinds in Columbia gourge were much less a problem with this installed.my no accessories on his Goldwing riding buddy is installing one.
my coolant tank is protected,as is my piece of mind.

23 out of 23 people found this helpful
yes no
 
No_photo
8/21/2013
Steve A.
Barksdale, TX
50_stars
Best One

With the louvered slots on bottom, I think it is the best one out there for the GL1800. It has already saved the bottom of mine.

13 out of 13 people found this helpful
yes no
 
No_photo
6/17/2013
GWS
Cincinnatus, NY
50_stars
Belly Pan

Installed easily and I like the idea of the underside of the bike being protected. The pan is hardly noticeable too. The peace of mind I now have knowing the bike is protected is well worth the price.

18 out of 19 people found this helpful
yes no
 
No_photo
6/3/2013
Eddie
Iowa City, IA
20_stars
Back part is good

Installed on a 2012 trike,and was on a ride,met a semi in the wind,front panel bent down,thought I blew a front tire.Called,no warranty,front maintenance shield needs a fastner on front lip.

6 out of 8 people found this helpful
yes no
 
Magick_image.php?path=uploads%2fupload_0001654047
6/3/2013
12 gauge
Rosemary Beach, FL
50_stars
GL1800 belly pan

Good product works well but is a pain in the arse when its time to change your coolant.

17 out of 19 people found this helpful
yes no
 
No_photo
5/3/2013
Sloms
Saskatoon, CA
50_stars
Stainless GL1800 Belly Pan

Just installed belly pan with no problems. Entire process took 20 minutes as one of the acorn nuts gave some grief when re-installed on the bike. Experienced no problems with the metal in that I experienced no cuts on the hands even though I did not wear gloves. Would recommend this product to all.

29 out of 31 people found this helpful
yes no
 
No_photo
5/3/2013
Sloms
Saskatoon, CA
50_stars
Stainless GL1800 Belly Pan

Just installed belly pan with no problems. Entire process took 20 minutes as one of the acorn nuts gave some grief on when re-installed on bike. Experienced no problems with the metal in that I experienced no cuts on the hands even though I did not wear gloves. Would recommend this product to all.

17 out of 18 people found this helpful
yes no
 
Magick_image.php?path=uploads%2fupload_0001655125
4/26/2013
Doc
Rockwall, TX
40_stars
Caution....

The stainless steel is harder than the threads of the muffler cover studs. Now I'll have to run a die over the stud to straighten our the threads, or pull the stud and replace it. Other models have open slots, which would be an easier fit and remove much of the potential damage to the studs.

30 out of 31 people found this helpful
yes no