Performance Stainless Belly Pan for GL1800 w/Oversize Fasteners

No_photo
7/14/2014
Patrick
Monument, CO
50_stars
Great Product with modification

After I purchased and installed the Belly Pan I noticed my cooling fan came on in slow traffic. I decided to drill some holes in the front and that helped. Also, the pan is well constructed and is very solid. The people who think it is made of cheap material I suggest you try to drill a hole through it and you will change your mind.

13 out of 13 people found this helpful
yes no
 
No_photo
6/13/2014
Kcsrider
Lakewood, CO
50_stars
Major underside upgrade

The first time you scrape a speed bump with the new SS belly pan, you will instantly realize how much added protection is there.

Heads up, if you install your own, the edges are SHARP, wear leather gloves when installing. Trust me, it is better to put them on before you start.

8 out of 8 people found this helpful
yes no
 
No_photo
5/22/2014
Patrick
Monument, CO
50_stars
Every Rider Should Install the Belly Pan

The directions for the installation is worthless. Had I not looked at the reviews I would not have known to take off the plastic white covering. At first you would think that nothing needs to be removed. Also, when you take off the two side bolts all you have to do is pull the plastic towards you and it will pull away from the screws and allow you to fit the pan over them. I took off the bolts and everything was still tight. I was afraid of breaking the plastic pulling two hard. It is a great sense of security for your bike.

13 out of 13 people found this helpful
yes no
 
No_photo
4/12/2014
jim
50_stars
Great Protection

This belly pan is easy to install, looks good and better yet protects the front and bottom of engine. Front panel removes in seconds to access oil filter. Worth the piece of mind to protect cooling and oil filter area.

9 out of 9 people found this helpful
yes no
 
Magick_image.php?path=uploads%2fupload_0001650712
3/29/2014
G Man
Blythewood, SC
50_stars
Great Piece of item!!

I had my bike trike with the Razor kit and with the running boards. The pan does not fit with the running boards. The running boards does have two bracket the runs across and it gives a great deal of protection below. I have to return it. Thanks

6 out of 6 people found this helpful
yes no
 
No_photo
2/11/2014
Bobo
McKinney, TX
50_stars
Satisfied buyer

Installed several years ago and have been satisfied with it. Just wanted to get some basic protection for the bottom end. At first I noticed some rattling, but that disappeared very shortly after install.

16 out of 16 people found this helpful
yes no
 
No_photo
12/26/2013
Kris
Costa Mesa, CA
10_stars
Does not fit F6B

I put one of these on my 08 GL1800 and it slipped right into place, no problem.
So, I purchased one for my new 2013 F6B and had it powder coated black to match the bike. I had to take off the exhaust covers as the fit was so tight. After several attempts, marring up the screw threads and the belly pan itself I decided it was a no go. There is no clearance after install as the belly pan is forced on to the exhaust pipes. I removed it and now I'm stuck with belly pan I can't return(powder coated black). Anyone interested I'll sell it for the purchase price(80.00) kdockex@gmail.com

12 out of 16 people found this helpful
yes no
 
Magick_image.php?path=uploads%2fupload_0001655552
12/25/2013
TaylorsWing
Houston, TX
50_stars
Best investment piece

I figured I was a good enough rider to avoid road debris. I bought my wing 7 months ago and have not hit anything in the road (knocked on wood) but I looked at the underside of my bike about a month ago and noticed there was a significant dent in the coolant reservoir. I can only assume a pebble was bouncing down the road that I never saw. Luckily, there was not a hole. I just installed this belly pan with few problems. My wife bought this for me and at first I though she bought the wrong one since it was white. Turned out that was only the protector plastic (removed before I installed). I turned a 10 minute install into an hour since I did not realize the lower plastic piece had to be pulled off of the screws with a little extra elbow grease. I am happy with the peace of mind to protect the oil filter and the coolant reservoir. After I got the pan over the screws, I slid it as far back as possible and that allowed the front piece to tuck into the cowling instead of dangling below the cowling. The aircraft style connectors on the front piece made the install a breeze and will also make maintenance a breeze. If you plan to replace the brake pedal anytime soon, do the brake pedal first to save you from having to remove the whole pan again. In light of where the oil filter is, this is a must have that will save some wing engines.

25 out of 25 people found this helpful
yes no
 
No_photo
12/16/2013
sbtrade
pearblossom
50_stars
good product poor product support

I have had this product for several years and love the protection this has provided the undercarriage.
However the nose piece has been worn down and there are no spare parts available. You have to buy a complete new product. In addition the Zeus fasteners had previously failed and no replacements were available. I had to order spare fasteners from McMaster Carr.

13 out of 14 people found this helpful
yes no
 
No_photo
11/3/2013
Richard
Jacksonville, FL
50_stars
MUST HAVE option

My wife and I each have a 2013 Gold Wing purchased in January, 2013. BOTH of us have experienced punctured coolant overflow tanks in the first year of ownership. I knew this could be an issue, but was originally talked out of getting the belly pan by a friend who never had a problem. The punctured tanks were discovered during a routine maintenance check in September. The service manager said it was a comical sight when the technician came in all wide eyed and said "You are not going to believe this, but both have punctured tanks." At $100 each to replace, I was kicking myself for not trusting my instincts...so if you don't believe it can happen to you, think again. Money well spent I say. Oh, and both bikes had front fender extensions fitted at time of purchase.

44 out of 46 people found this helpful
yes no