Performance Stainless Belly Pan for GL1800 w/Oversize Fasteners

Magick_image.php?path=uploads%2fupload_0001650712
3/29/2014
G Man
Blythewood, SC
50_stars
Great Piece of item!!

I had my bike trike with the Razor kit and with the running boards. The pan does not fit with the running boards. The running boards does have two bracket the runs across and it gives a great deal of protection below. I have to return it. Thanks

6 out of 6 people found this helpful
yes no
 
No_photo
2/11/2014
Bobo
McKinney, TX
50_stars
Satisfied buyer

Installed several years ago and have been satisfied with it. Just wanted to get some basic protection for the bottom end. At first I noticed some rattling, but that disappeared very shortly after install.

16 out of 16 people found this helpful
yes no
 
No_photo
12/26/2013
Kris
Costa Mesa, CA
10_stars
Does not fit F6B

I put one of these on my 08 GL1800 and it slipped right into place, no problem.
So, I purchased one for my new 2013 F6B and had it powder coated black to match the bike. I had to take off the exhaust covers as the fit was so tight. After several attempts, marring up the screw threads and the belly pan itself I decided it was a no go. There is no clearance after install as the belly pan is forced on to the exhaust pipes. I removed it and now I'm stuck with belly pan I can't return(powder coated black). Anyone interested I'll sell it for the purchase price(80.00) kdockex@gmail.com

12 out of 16 people found this helpful
yes no
 
Magick_image.php?path=uploads%2fupload_0001655552
12/25/2013
TaylorsWing
Houston, TX
50_stars
Best investment piece

I figured I was a good enough rider to avoid road debris. I bought my wing 7 months ago and have not hit anything in the road (knocked on wood) but I looked at the underside of my bike about a month ago and noticed there was a significant dent in the coolant reservoir. I can only assume a pebble was bouncing down the road that I never saw. Luckily, there was not a hole. I just installed this belly pan with few problems. My wife bought this for me and at first I though she bought the wrong one since it was white. Turned out that was only the protector plastic (removed before I installed). I turned a 10 minute install into an hour since I did not realize the lower plastic piece had to be pulled off of the screws with a little extra elbow grease. I am happy with the peace of mind to protect the oil filter and the coolant reservoir. After I got the pan over the screws, I slid it as far back as possible and that allowed the front piece to tuck into the cowling instead of dangling below the cowling. The aircraft style connectors on the front piece made the install a breeze and will also make maintenance a breeze. If you plan to replace the brake pedal anytime soon, do the brake pedal first to save you from having to remove the whole pan again. In light of where the oil filter is, this is a must have that will save some wing engines.

25 out of 25 people found this helpful
yes no
 
No_photo
12/16/2013
sbtrade
pearblossom
50_stars
good product poor product support

I have had this product for several years and love the protection this has provided the undercarriage.
However the nose piece has been worn down and there are no spare parts available. You have to buy a complete new product. In addition the Zeus fasteners had previously failed and no replacements were available. I had to order spare fasteners from McMaster Carr.

13 out of 14 people found this helpful
yes no
 
No_photo
11/3/2013
Richard
Jacksonville, FL
50_stars
MUST HAVE option

My wife and I each have a 2013 Gold Wing purchased in January, 2013. BOTH of us have experienced punctured coolant overflow tanks in the first year of ownership. I knew this could be an issue, but was originally talked out of getting the belly pan by a friend who never had a problem. The punctured tanks were discovered during a routine maintenance check in September. The service manager said it was a comical sight when the technician came in all wide eyed and said "You are not going to believe this, but both have punctured tanks." At $100 each to replace, I was kicking myself for not trusting my instincts...so if you don't believe it can happen to you, think again. Money well spent I say. Oh, and both bikes had front fender extensions fitted at time of purchase.

44 out of 46 people found this helpful
yes no
 
Magick_image.php?path=uploads%2fupload_0001655061
8/26/2013
george
beaverton, OR
50_stars
nice as you will find

this fit great on my 2012 and saved a lot of cleaning after a 2000 mile trip to glacier nat park.
bigtime crosswinds in Columbia gourge were much less a problem with this installed.my no accessories on his Goldwing riding buddy is installing one.
my coolant tank is protected,as is my piece of mind.

23 out of 23 people found this helpful
yes no
 
No_photo
8/21/2013
Steve A.
Barksdale, TX
50_stars
Best One

With the louvered slots on bottom, I think it is the best one out there for the GL1800. It has already saved the bottom of mine.

13 out of 13 people found this helpful
yes no
 
No_photo
6/17/2013
GWS
Cincinnatus, NY
50_stars
Belly Pan

Installed easily and I like the idea of the underside of the bike being protected. The pan is hardly noticeable too. The peace of mind I now have knowing the bike is protected is well worth the price.

18 out of 19 people found this helpful
yes no
 
No_photo
6/3/2013
Eddie
Iowa City, IA
20_stars
Back part is good

Installed on a 2012 trike,and was on a ride,met a semi in the wind,front panel bent down,thought I blew a front tire.Called,no warranty,front maintenance shield needs a fastner on front lip.

6 out of 8 people found this helpful
yes no