Performance Stainless Belly Pan for GL1800 w/Oversize Fasteners

Magick_image.php?path=uploads%2fupload_0001656254
10/26/2014
Keith
Royse City, TX
50_stars
Belly Pan for 2013 Goldwing

It took me about 15 min. to install with common hand tools, looks good. This is a must for all Goldwing's, I had a piece of wire penetrate my coolant overflow tank, the tank sits on the bottom of the bike and if I would of installed one of these prior, it would not have happened. So, after I had the tank replaced I installed the belly pan, it won't happen again!

16 out of 16 people found this helpful
yes no
 
No_photo
8/28/2014
Lorne
Drayton Valley, CA
50_stars
Belly Pan for GL1800

I ordered this product for my 2009 Honda Goldwing GL1800.
1. Make sure you take off the white plastic coverings on both sides before installing.
2. Before installing I took mine to a local company and had them powder coat it to match the grey cowling color for a cost of $80 US. So glad I did as it comes back with smoother edges and should add many more years of wear to it.
3. Installing it took me approx. 90 minutes. Install the kickstand side first, taking out the side bolts with a 10 mm socket wrench. It may take some effort to get the pan hole over the bolt and inside the cowelling. Put nuts in place and lightly tighten.
4. Then do the same on the right side. With a little persistence it will go into place. Then tighten all four bolts.
5. Put on the front portion last. You'll have to bend it in shape to get a better fit. Then 1/4 tighten lug nuts.
Tip: I used a piece of chrome car door plastic edging along both the front edge of the front piece to reduce rattling and along the back edge of the back piece for a smoother look.
A great product. Like everyone else says it should have been installed at the factory.
Thanks Wingstuff for making it available. Should be purchased by all Goldwing owners.

23 out of 23 people found this helpful
yes no
 
Magick_image.php?path=uploads%2fupload_0001640591
8/24/2014
Mark & Peggy
North Branch, MN
50_stars
Great product, Strong!

Wish I could add a picture of this product after 52,000 miles of riding. First thing you need to know is that this is very strong stuff. Takes a lot to dent or bend it. It comes in two pieces and the front removable cover is the part that takes the beating. My cover was smashed hard right where the oil filter is placed. The two air vent were smashed in and I believe this would have caused a problem for my oil filter. I also got to close to a cement curb and scraped up the shield along the front side. Its still in place and solid as a rock. I would never be with out it because stuff happens.

14 out of 14 people found this helpful
yes no
 
Magick_image.php?path=uploads%2fupload_0001640591
8/24/2014
Mark & Peggy
North Branch, MN
50_stars
Great product, Strong!

2 out of 2 people found this helpful
yes no
 
Magick_image.php?path=uploads%2fupload_0001643801
8/20/2014
Hapkido
Mesquite, TX
50_stars
Worth the price.

1st day I had this installed hit a piece of metal on the way home right were the pan is. Saved me I don't know how much in potential repairs. A must if you have a Goldwing!

11 out of 11 people found this helpful
yes no
 
No_photo
8/14/2014
Larry
Phoenix, AZ
50_stars
Long term report

Purchased over 3 years ago, has worked as a rock shield, keeps out road grime. Well worth the cost!

17 out of 17 people found this helpful
yes no
 
No_photo
7/27/2014
Paul
Lexington, SC
30_stars
Not the right color

Ordered this belly pan and it came in White! Another trip to the hardware store to get paint to match the bike, don't show stainless if it is going to come in white.

1 out of 12 people found this helpful
yes no
 
No_photo
7/14/2014
Patrick
Monument, CO
50_stars
Great Product with modification

After I purchased and installed the Belly Pan I noticed my cooling fan came on in slow traffic. I decided to drill some holes in the front and that helped. Also, the pan is well constructed and is very solid. The people who think it is made of cheap material I suggest you try to drill a hole through it and you will change your mind.

13 out of 13 people found this helpful
yes no
 
No_photo
6/13/2014
Kcsrider
Lakewood, CO
50_stars
Major underside upgrade

The first time you scrape a speed bump with the new SS belly pan, you will instantly realize how much added protection is there.

Heads up, if you install your own, the edges are SHARP, wear leather gloves when installing. Trust me, it is better to put them on before you start.

8 out of 8 people found this helpful
yes no
 
No_photo
5/22/2014
Patrick
Monument, CO
50_stars
Every Rider Should Install the Belly Pan

The directions for the installation is worthless. Had I not looked at the reviews I would not have known to take off the plastic white covering. At first you would think that nothing needs to be removed. Also, when you take off the two side bolts all you have to do is pull the plastic towards you and it will pull away from the screws and allow you to fit the pan over them. I took off the bolts and everything was still tight. I was afraid of breaking the plastic pulling two hard. It is a great sense of security for your bike.

14 out of 14 people found this helpful
yes no