Paulcf - Product Reviews

4/8/2017
50_stars
Great, but I made it even better!

I got this fender extender a few years ago. So far no problems. Last year I did a major front fork overhaul and removed the fender of course. I cleaned the lower front fender and then put silicone seal to seal the gap between the inside of the fender and this extender. Then, to provide more front protection, I got an inner tube (heavy/thick) from an ATV tire. Cut a piece to make an additional extension that is of course totally flexible. Now the front of my GW and the lower cowl are much cleaner and less debris makes its way there.
It is a great fender extender and the chrome hasn't faded or deteriorated at all. Looks great on the GW.

3 out of 3 people found this helpful
yes no
 
4/5/2017
50_stars
Great product, looks much better than OEM stems

I got these a few years ago now. Still look brand new, no rust. So much easier to check air pressure and to add air. Why in heaven's sake these are not standard OEM on the GL1800 is a total mystery to me, especially for the rear tire being so hard to get at. Well worth the $8, a no brainer!

4 out of 4 people found this helpful
yes no
 
11/8/2015
50_stars
Don't fear the Air Filter change!

This is an awesome set of DVD's! No excuse to avoid the dreaded air filter change anymore! Or any other maintenance on the mighty Goldwing. Detailed and thorough, it will easily pay for itself with one maintenance job you do! If every Goldwing owner had this, the cycle shops would be in dire straights indeed from a servicing perspective for Goldwings. Your car can only hope to be as lucky to have such a detailed maintenance guide! I agree with another reviewer re need for chapters to skip to directly but judged on the content, 5 stars!

13 out of 15 people found this helpful
yes no
 
11/8/2015
50_stars
Cheap and effective

I got this oil as it is less than half price of what the dealer wants for NON synthetic! A no-brainer! But also it is designed especially for a motorcycle and I know it is a top quality product from Castrol. I don't think it shifts any better or such but I have the peace of mind that extreme heat (and more importantly here, cold weather) ensures my luxury Goldwing engine is fully protected. During those few seconds upon start up, when cold, I know that the residual oil is lubricating immediately those parts that need it until the oil is warmer and fully circulating. Ride on!

13 out of 15 people found this helpful
yes no
 
11/8/2015
50_stars
Something else that should be OEM

Like the other 2 reviewers, I installed this easy to install device and it works wonders...cars seem to take better notice when I am braking, the rear brake lights are flashing away. We need all the visibility we can get, even though the Goldwing is massive! Easy to install once you test to ensure you have the right wire. Keep the instructions with your owners manual so you have them if you wish to reprogram the flashing sequence, etc.

12 out of 14 people found this helpful
yes no
 
11/8/2015
50_stars
Why risk it?

I have often wondered why some GW owners work so hard to research and investigate such a mundane piece of equipment such as the oil filter! Frankly, I have peace of mind buying the Honda OEM filter, it works, it fits, and I know I won't have an issue with it. I can think of many other ways to save $5! Stick with what Honda designed to work on your expensive Goldwing. Besides, buying them at WingStuff is the way to go price wise.

13 out of 18 people found this helpful
yes no
 
7/14/2015
10_stars
Not recommended

Our friends at WingStuff carry top notch items. Also others have found this windshield to meet their expectations. I feel that I am an average wing rider, 6' tall, 200lbs, on a 2003. However this product falls below standards expected and is not worth your consideration and not worth purchasing.
I don't have enough space to explain in detail but suffice to say: It does not install properly, it does not allow the windshield to be elevated to the top position which 'unlocks' the centre w/s mechanism allowing you to drop the w/s back down to the lowest setting and raise it again as required. It is much narrower than my OEM shield. It whistles (the vent?) at 45-65 mph and that is very irritating & a deal breaker right there. It is much louder behind it (5-8 decibels based on my android phone app). I tested it over 100 miles (and return also) at 3 height settings. Also the vent is in your line of sight and the wind blast hits my face(dangerous for small stones/sand that can get thru the vent). My OEM shield/vent hits me in my stomach area, ideal on a hot day, open your jacket and get some relief from the heat. I broke my centre mechanism trying to figure this shield out and fortunately was able to fix it (it is a $200 part!). In all I wasted over 6+ hours to fix my ratcheting mechanism and had to remove most of the front fairing (ugh the dead bugs!). When WingStuff says customer service is everything, they MEAN it. They were awesome to deal with returning it and that's why I continue to buy ALL my accessories, parts, oil, etc. ONLY from WingStuff who stand behind what they sell.
I am sorry, but I had high expectations for this shield and it was a great disappointment and a surprise that it is worse than the OEM shield.

17 out of 18 people found this helpful
yes no
 
7/14/2015
50_stars
Another home run by Electrical Connections!

I got this kit the other day from our friends at WingStuff and it is very easy to install. It does what it says it does and even though I do not tow a trailer, I like the addition of the turn signals flashing higher up (trunk light on corner) along with the flashing turn signal on the lower part of the saddlebags. Again it is something that frankly should be OEM. Time to install, 1 hour (included cleaning the bulbs as they were quite dirty and that increased brightness. For your safety, highly recommended!

12 out of 13 people found this helpful
yes no
 
8/20/2014
50_stars
Back to the OEM tires!

My 2003 Goldwing had Dunlop E3's and they were good but I find having these Bridgestone's to be more comfortable and relaxed on tight corners and in the rain. I am taking into account also that I got my E3's new and now I am comparing them to these Bridgestone's. I must also point out that I have Centramatic wheel discs (had them on the E3's first) and I am sure they account for the smoothness (i.e. no difference between the E3's and these tires).
By the way, the price was much less than any other retailer and WingStuff, as usual, had them delivered in record time.

After 3,000 miles on these new tires, they still show the rubber nubs not fully worn down and tire life will be interesting to monitor.

A dealer refused to install my supplied tires here so I will never be going to buy anything from them. Make sure you have a motorcycle dealer who will mount your tires. I found it easier to bring the 2 rims and tires to the dealer.

29 out of 31 people found this helpful
yes no
 
6/3/2014
50_stars
Updated review on my 2 dollies!

As you can tell from my previous review below, I like the dolly. So much so I bought another one for my son's VFR. I was surprised to see that his was painted a bright yellow (nice) and had different caster/wheels on it than mine from 3 years ago. My original (?) dolly has the dual wheel with the dark grey colour stand. It moves around fine. However I decided to put my Goldwing on the new one with a single wheel (as shown in yellow/photo) and WOW...it is even easier to roll around! It's like the dolly has power steering now!

As usual, be very careful to have an absolutely clean floor when moving it around. And when you want to change directions (i.e. from moving the bike sideways to going backwards), gently push it so it allows the wheels on the dolly to realign otherwise your bike CAN go flying off the dolly...not fun!

Always keep your sidestand down for precaution and if you find it moves when putting the bike on the dolly, use a wedge like I do sometimes. I also ensure to put the bike up on the dolly using my heavy duty riding boots as it helps to reduce the pressure point of the centre stand tab where you press down. I can't lift my bike up with my running shoes on for instance.

With the amount of weight (900+ lbs) on it on two very small points of contact, I am extremely pleased to see absolutely no deflection/bending of the platform whatsoever. A bit more effort of course to get the bike on the dolly but there's no way I could store 2 bikes in my tiny garage with 2 cars without these versatile and well built dollys (dollies?). And remember: MADE IN THE USA.

31 out of 32 people found this helpful
yes no